El Sabado


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
August 30th 2008
Published: September 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I woke up late today, at noon. My room is pretty warm, but not unbearable. Senora “Charra” made me coffee and I had an apple. I cleaned my room and got dressed, then Jasmine and I went to Sol (a ‘touristy’ place in Madrid). We walked around and went to an internet café. I talked and saw Ray - that was really nice. It was 8am in the US, so he was sleepy. Some guy tried to steal stuff from my backpack, but luckily nothing was missing (these Spaniards are thieves!!!). It was now 4pm and my stomach was growling, so we walked around looking for a restaurant with reasonable prices. We found a lot of cute restaurants with tables outside (but if you sit outside, it’s more expensive). We finally found a place that looked like it had food we’d like and at a more reasonable price. I chose a ham and potato dish, and she had a Spanish omelet (made with potatoes.) When they came out, the portions were so small! After seeing how much I’ll be walking while I’m here and how little they feed you and how expensive it is, I know I’ll be losing weight!!! So that’s a good thing. The waiter had trouble understanding us, and after almost 2 hours, we finally left. I also looked for a pre-paid cell phone that I can use while I’m here, but you have to have your passport with you. So we made our way back home via the Metro.

We didn´t do much for the rest of the day. I read some in my "Spain for Dummies" book to get some more tips on where to go.

Tomorrow Jasmine and I are going to El museo del Prada.

Chao.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb