Madrid


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
June 10th 2008
Published: June 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Madrid!Madrid!Madrid!

This was the first thing I saw when I entered the city... its so pretty!
Madrid is amazzzing!

I spent the first week settling into the house, but by week two I was ready to go into the city. When I stepped out of the subway and emerged above ground, I was shocked. The city is gorgeous! The cobblestone streets, the tiny winding roads, the old buildings, the statues and monuments everywhere! It looks nothing like say, Toronto which is the only other big city I know well. This city is old and full of history...

There is so much to see and do. The shopping is amazing and prices here are cheaper. There is this store "Zara" that is huge here, that I had never heard of. Its my new fav. store!

I've had two random people come up to me and ask to take a picture with them! Very strange. And I've met alot of random people while in the city. Alot of people from Italy, some from Czechoslovakia, America, and England.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Palacio RealPalacio Real
Palacio Real

The Royal Palace of Madrid. So gorgeous inside...
Dunkin' Coffee!!Dunkin' Coffee!!
Dunkin' Coffee!!

Hahaha. A sign getting lost in translation...
Retiro ParkRetiro Park
Retiro Park

Retiro Park is the "Central Park" of Madrid. Its SO big and so nice!
Street entertainersStreet entertainers
Street entertainers

There are street entertainers everywhere! These guys were really good. They had the audience all singing along...I didn't know the song, as it was Spanish...
Madrid..Madrid..
Madrid..

The buildings are all so old and huge. Also, I went on that MadridVision double decker bus in the bottom left corner...
The Bear and the Strawberry TreeThe Bear and the Strawberry Tree
The Bear and the Strawberry Tree

I kept seeing this symbol of a bear and a strawberry tree. Then I saw this statue and took a picture. Later Rafa explained its the city's emblem...
CrazyCrazy
Crazy

This street entertainer kept doing crazy stunts! And he began talking to me in Spanish and all I could say was "No comprendo!" The crowd laughed. I also met a friend here who saved me from a pickpocketer!
Random TouristaRandom Tourista
Random Tourista

Here is a random tourist who asked for a picture with me in Retiro Park! At first I thought he just wanted me to take a pic for him, and the next thing I know his arm is around me and were smiling for the cam! Very random!


11th June 2008

Great Blog!
Great Blog, Yenners! Keep the stories comin'....
11th June 2008

ahh
i miss youuuuuuuu!!!

Tot: 0.284s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb