Holy Toledo!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
June 12th 2008
Published: June 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Holy ToledoHoly ToledoHoly Toledo

This was the view from the Library in Toledo!
Holy Toledo is right! The city was amazing!

I took the train (only 1/2 an hour) to Toledo for the day. I was sitting on the bus heading into "historic Toledo" when I noticed the man beside me was talking english and was explaining where we were being dropped off. We got talking and by the time we got off the bus, it was assumed we were spending the day together. Their was Garry and Mandee (from Australia) and Calvin from Vancouver! So two Canadians and two Aussies. We wandered around and took pictures for a while until we got hungry. Then we found a cute restaurant with a live accordian player outside so we took a seat. We all ordered "carcamusa" (a local speciality we were told. It was a spicy stew of meat and tomatoes) which was good. Then the waiter brought us four shots for "digestion!" We didn't complain so we all tossed back our drinks and continued on.

We saw so many cute little winding streets. And of course, all the stores closed at about 2 for "siesta!" We stumbled upon the Huge Toledo Cathedral (one of the biggest in Europe) so we had to
shade?shade?shade?

We think these sheets were put up for shade from the HOT summer sun... they were hung all throughout the tiny streets...
have a tour. It was amazing inside, with a couple El Greco paintings as well (he grew up in Toledo!)

Unfortunately I had to catch my train by 5:30, and they all had 9:30 tickets! They tried to convince me to stay for "tapas" but 9:30 was too late for me to stay since I DO have a job and all... so we took a picture, hugged and I was on my way. I have their emails but unfortch they were all tourists and were leaving Madrid in the next few days... Calvin's been travelling through Europe for 9 MONTHS!

Anyway, overall it was a perfect day!

I came home to see a meal waiting for us. Another great meal by Ramona. Then I played cards with the kids and then it was off to bed for them. Thats all for today....Night!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Gothic CathedralGothic Cathedral
Gothic Cathedral

This is one of the biggest Cathedral's in Europe... gorgeous inside.
Ham!Ham!
Ham!

This was a cute restaurant...with huge hunks of ham hanging from the ceiling!
AaaawAaaaw
Aaaaw

Here are my friends: Calvin, Mandee and Garry. We were a random group, but I felt I had known them for years! :) I'll miss them!


12th June 2008

I want to be a nanny!!!
I'm so jealous- I want to be a nanny too! Where do I sign up? L
13th June 2008

Glad you are having fun
Hey Yen, can you ask your boss if they need a computer nerd? I'm looking for fun! haha, kidding of course...
13th June 2008

Shawn
Hey S. Yes Rafa was just saying yesterday that "Computer Nerd" was next on his list of people to hire. He's having interviews in a week. You're a shoo in! hahaha
13th June 2008

Fantastic blog!
Yenny, I knew that your blog would be great! The pics are wonderful, and really make you feel like you're there. In fact, you could easily submit some of them to a travel mag (with an account of your travels attached). You really have a talent for this - thanks for sharing your travels with the rest of us!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb