El Escorial


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » El Escorial
June 17th 2008
Published: June 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

El EscorialEl EscorialEl Escorial

Here is El Escorial: the 30,000 square meter fortress/palace/monastery/best stocked library in the world!
Today I ventured out to El Escorial. Its a cute town with a famous palace/monastery complex called, what else? El Esorial! It was gorgeous. It was built in the 1500's by King Felipe II, and now almost all the kings of Spain are buried there! I went into the Pantheon of the Kings, and it was very beautiful, but eerie too.

After getting the tour of the palace I had two hours left to kill before I had to catch my bus. I began wandering through the cute streets when a friendly looking grampa said "want a beer?" My first thought was Rafa saying "never trust Spaniards" but my next thought was "yeah actually, I could use a beer on this hot day!" So I took a seat and talked to the man for the rest of my time in El Escorial! He ended up buying me lunch too. I had Paella which is rice with meat and vegetables. However there were various "mystery" meats that I found sketchy, but I didn't want to be rude so I ate it all. The man was interesting and talked about his life. He has travelled the world and his favourite place was
El Esc and MountainsEl Esc and MountainsEl Esc and Mountains

It looks so pretty tucked away in the mountains...
Ibiza! He liked to give me advice and his parting words to me were "Remember Jenneke. Once you know who YOU are, you will know who everyone ELSE is." I did not know what to think of that, so I thanked him and hopped on the train back to Boadilla.

Overall it was a fun day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.261s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb