Segovia!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
June 20th 2008
Published: June 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

El AcueductoEl AcueductoEl Acueducto

This is the huge Roman Aqueduct looking out over the "new" city. So nice! (Im the pink blob in the front) haha
Yesterday I went to Segovia. It took about an hour by train and I stopped in a cute town on the way called Cercedilla, which I've heard is where Pan's Labyrinth was filmed. I spent an hour there and it was really nice.

Anyway, once I stepped off the train in Segovia I had no idea which way to go. I overheard people speaking English so I asked them if they knew where we were. They did not know either, so we began walking together. It turns out they were from "the boring part" of California and were spending one week in Spain! They had made day trips to all the same towns I had been to.

Once we figured out where we were we headed toward the famous Aqueduct. It was amazing. We probably spent an hour just wandering around it, and climbing to the top of it. The weather was amazing by the way. These people were from Cali and they were complaining it was hot! That might give you a feel for the temperature... I didn't complain once though. I'm going to miss this when I'm back home...

Anyway, then we headed on to the
Old CityOld CityOld City

The Aqueduct stops at the end of the old city...
Plaza Mayor, where a huge gothic church was. It was very nice. Finally we headed to Alcazar. It looked like something from a fairytale!

Then I had to leave my Cali friends and head back, so we said goodbye and I found my way back to the train station. Overall, it was a fun day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

AlcazarAlcazar
Alcazar

The Alcazar was gorgeous. I heard Walt Disney was inspired by the Alcazar de Segovia to create his famous Cinderella Castle! The similarities are quite obvious actually.
VistaVista
Vista

View of the city!
More aqueduct...More aqueduct...
More aqueduct...

We climbed to the top and took pics from the other side of the aqueduct...
Segovia CathedralSegovia Cathedral
Segovia Cathedral

This was the last Gothic Cathedral built in Spain...


20th June 2008

I just read all your blog entries for my first time now and I don't think it would be possible for me to be more jealous right now.
20th June 2008

Boring?
Hey, where is the boring part of California?
20th June 2008

Northern Cali
Hey! Well when I think of Cali I think of like, LA and Newport Beach. They live like seven hours from all that....up north. haha
20th June 2008

Aaaw
Hey Mir. Come visit me. Then you don't have to be jealous! haha! I miss you! :)
24th June 2008

AMAZING!
Yenny, your blog is awesome! Its making my time in my cubical go MUCH faster. I want to hear all about your trip when you get back! We can trade travel stories :) Don't worry, I'm keeping an eye on your brother for you - keeping him out of trouble and such. Keep having fun, and keep posting! ps. They have Zara here too! I've seen it somewhere, but I can't remember what mall.

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0907s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb