Barcelona, baby


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
October 22nd 2006
Published: October 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I made it into Barcelona Thursday night...
I flew RyanAir, which is this super cheap airline. The seats were open seating! That was weird. Also, they stripped about everything that would cost extra out of the plane. Complimentary magazines? Forget it. It was a little rainy, and so when we landed it was bit weird, and afterwards, the whole plane applauded. Ha! It was really funny.

We took a bus into Barcelona and two metros and then found our hostel, Kabul. It´s really cool! It´s pretty modern and unlike most hostels, it doesn't have a curfew, and there's even a bar inside. It's got my vote. Except a hostel is kind of a strange place to say. I'm not sure I'm the hostel type, but it's not too bad, just different than what I'm used to.

Today we woke up, walked around and we found a Starbucks. Being the skinny soy vanilla tripple latte freak that I am, I've already been there twice today. I know, silly American, but seriously, nothing beats it. Cappuccino is excellent in Italy, but still I need my security blanket of a grande cup in my hand. It's a must have accessory when shopping, or pretty much doing anything.

We took a Fat Tire Bike Tour of the city. It was great! It was a 4 hour tour throughout the city, and the guide would stop at sites and we'd talk, take pictures, then peddle on. It ended at the beach, where we ate a cafe. I had nachos with guacomole. YEA! I love guacomole, and it was a welcome treat.

After that, we went shopping. I found a Jordi Labanda store, which made my day. He´s one of my favorite designers, but it's a little hard to find the clothes in the states. He is everywhere here because he's Catalunyian (the region of Barcelona) and they love him. I am very happy too.

Our hostel price also includes a free Flamenco show at the club next door. We decided to try it out since we didn't really have anything to lose. It was interesting. The singers make this face that looks like he's about to take castor oil. The dancer also made this weird face that looked like he was about to sneeze! It was good though, because you could really tell they were into it and put so
Michael Jackson ImpersonatorMichael Jackson ImpersonatorMichael Jackson Impersonator

Barcelona has AWESOME street performers. Way better than Rome's beggers...
much emotion into the song. I like that.

Saturday morning we got up and basically went to all of the big sites in Barcelona. We went to a few houses by Gaudi, Park Guel and inside Sagrada Familia. That church is just outstanding. It's taken over 200 years to build what exists now, and will probably take another 40 years to finish. It's funded only by private donation and entry tickets, so that accounts too for the long time. It's really pretty. The castle at Wilson Park I think, is inspired by Gaudi. Anyways, all of his buildings really made me miss it!

We went out to dinner for Tapas, but I found out to my dismay that they were mostly meat based. So I had some weird combination of egg, rice, and tomato sauce, but it was pretty good.

Sunday we went to the acquarium! Barcelona has an AMAZING acquarium. My favorite was the shark tunnel! They had really great fish, it was just beautiful. And a great section for kids. But it's a really good place for families in general. Then, we had to leave Barcelona. I was so sad! But it did not help
High School Musical!High School Musical!High School Musical!

Erin and I got to go on the High School Musical promo bus! I was so happy!
that our plane was delayed. Dang, Ryanair!



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Sagrada FamiliaSagrada Familia
Sagrada Familia

Portion of the door on the new facade
Sagrada FamiliaSagrada Familia
Sagrada Familia

the windows inside
View of BarcelonaView of Barcelona
View of Barcelona

From Park Guel
Park GuelPark Guel
Park Guel

I climbed up in a cool niche there!
l'Acquariuml'Acquarium
l'Acquarium

A sea horse!
AcquariumAcquarium
Acquarium

I was euphoric in the shark tunnel!
AcquariumAcquarium
Acquarium

Victoria, I took this for you!
AcquariumAcquarium
Acquarium

A cute turtle in the kids museum
AcquariumAcquarium
Acquarium

Making sure everything works right in the submarine


30th November 2006

Affordable accommodation in Barcelona!
Hey, Read your blog about Barcelona! Next time when you go there then check this link: www.barcelona-home.com It is a company able to help you with loads of different services such as accommodation, activities, transfers and much more. Lots of love, Lisa

Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0757s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb