Siena


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Siena
October 15th 2006
Published: October 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

From the Top of the TowerFrom the Top of the TowerFrom the Top of the Tower

Mom, this is a good one to paint!
This morning we woke up, checked out of the hotel, and hopped on a charter bus (hired by the school) to Siena. I am such a dope. On the bus, I was looking at the gorgeous scenery and I was sitting by Emilio, so I asked Ïs Siena close to Tuscany?¨Grant was like, Mary, we've been in Tuscany! It's a region, not a city, silly. Yes, that's what a silly billy I am. Don't worry though, my silliness is not a measure of my competence in Europe by myself.

Anyways, I loved the bus ride because it was gorgeous and it only took about an hour to get to Siena. We looked around, went to the Cathedral, and the Campo. We climbed a huge tower, I forgot the name of it. It was bit scarry, because Mary Margaret is afraid of heights and tight spaces, but I made it! I got some really awesome pics of the view there. I´ll need to post those soon.

Then Grant, Tyler, Jinny, Amanda and I ate lunch where we had the best tortellini ever. Then we found the Museo di Tortura--Torture Museum--and thought we ought to go in. Ok, bad idea! I'm
From the Top of the TowerFrom the Top of the TowerFrom the Top of the Tower

Mom, this is a good one to paint!
a passivist, and that was about the worst thing ever. it had horrible devices that were used in medevil days, and some are being used today in some 3rd world and Latin countries. It made me feel awful, like I had just watched about 3 hours of Jerry Springer, but overall, it was good to know what had happened to people back then. We were all kind of sad afterwards, so we went and sat in the middle of the Campo. It's where these huge horseraces are held in Siena that are really famous, but I also don't agree with horse racing, so that wasn't interesting to me either. Then we met the bus, and headed back to Rome. I missed our apartment! Although I really enjoyed my time under the Tuscan sun...


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.291s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0913s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb