Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
October 14th 2006
Published: October 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

This weekend is the school's trp to Florence! I love it... It's so pretty, and everything is so old and medevil. Even the city moves slow, which I like. I hadnĀ”'t realized just how fast-paced Rome has made me, until I kept running into everyone walking so fast in Florence.

We came in yesterday morning on the train, and checked into our hotel. I love travelling with the school because they always put us up in really nice hotels. Jamie is my roommate this weekend and I love our room! It's so cute with little twin beds with sweet yellow bed sheets. It's like princesses on vacation! Except our bathroom is weird. The shower is just a shower head stuck into the wall of the bathroom. The drain is in the middle of the bathroom, so the entire bathroom IS the shower! It reminds me of the episode of Sex and the City when Carrie takes a train to see Big in San Francisco, and the shower is over the toilet, and she calls them shower toilets. We have a shower bathroom.

After checking in, we saw an old children's hospital that's now an orphanage. It was a little
On top of the Uffizi... all covered with cheese!On top of the Uffizi... all covered with cheese!On top of the Uffizi... all covered with cheese!

Just kidding. I wasn't really covered in cheese.
sad, but Emilio said not to worry, because the Italians are eager to adopt them Good. Then we saw the Cathedral, Baptistry, and my favorite, the Uffizi. I have been dying to go there ever since my sister brought back a book from when she went in high school. It was so cool! I love Botticelli's Birth of Venus, so it was great to see that.

Then we had some free time, so Grant, Tyler, Amanda and I went to the Academia to see Michaelangelo's David. It was huge! It was so amazing. It looks like so real, like he's going to stretch out any moment and move. It was great to finally see it!

This morning we woke up, ate breakfast at the hotel, and then walked around town. We went to some really cool churches and then we had more free time, so Tyler, Amanda and I ate a really good lunch and then went shopping.

A group of us all went out to dinner with Emilio and it was so good! I was able to get my favorte, spaghetti with tomato sauce, so I was happy. I love Florence!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The Carousel!The Carousel!
The Carousel!

Jinny and I decided to ride the carousel there


22nd October 2006

Yes! when we stayed in Florence that is what our bathroom is like. It's really weird. I love the Villa Bourghese. It is so pretty. Miss you love you!
23rd October 2006

Alex and I had a bathroom like that, too! I guess it runs in the family. I love Florence, and it makes me happy to think of you being there. I think the Duomo is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. Did you climb to the top?? Love you!!! Miss you!!!

Tot: 0.343s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb