Woopsy!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Verona
November 24th 2006
Published: November 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mantegna ExhibitMantegna ExhibitMantegna Exhibit

The best letter in the alphabet!
OK, so it looks like I really stink about updating my blog. Sorry. 😞 But since I've last blogged I went to Verona, Padua, and Venice! So I'll write about my adventrues there, starting now!

So the school took us to Verona on Friday, November 10. Once again, we left the train station in Rome really early and everyone seemed to be annoyed by my unusual perkiness. Oh well! I can't help it--I get excited. We got there about noon. We ate lunch at a little cafeteria-style restaurant there, and it was pretty good. We all were ready to go to Castevecchio, but when we arrived there, it was closed down for a senator's meeting. Go figure. So with 23 anxious students, Emilio improvised with a trip to the Mantegna art exhibit there. It wasn't bad, but I think that everyone would have enjoyed Castelvecchio a little more. But it was still great. Then we saw the Capulet hotel with a Juliet statue outside. The tradition is to touch her right breast. I'm not really sure why, but we all did it anyways. Then we took the train to Padua (where our hotel was) and set out to look for dinner. Amanda, Jinny, Tyler, Grant and I all headed out looking for this sushi restaurant that the concierge told us about. Thirty minutes later we found it. After we had been eating for a little while, I got up to use the restroom. It was situated just about dead center of the small eating area. It had one door opening into the sinnk area and another following it where the toilet was. Don't worry--this story won't be gross. It's really funny. So I locked the door, and when I was done, I needed to unlock the door to exit. Except fate had another option in mind. The door wouldn't open! It wouldn't unlock or anything. I was panicking. It was a pretty small space and I was worried that no one would hear me. So of course, I started yelling for help. The key that I had turned to lock the door had gotten jammed into the lock, so I had to wriggle that out of there, while the waitress or manager (I'm not sure what she was) had me slip the key under the door, and then they got me out. It was so embarassing! But when I came
Juliet's StatueJuliet's StatueJuliet's Statue

Jinny and I just trying to follow tradition...
out the whole restaurant cheered and Jinny, Tyler, Amanda, and Grant just looked at me like, "How dumb are you!". I was so embarrassed--but it is prety funny.

On Saturday we got up and took a train into Venice. We toured the Doge's palace and St. Mark's. It was fun, but I knew what to expect having been there last year. We took a train back into Padua about 5, and Sam, Jamie, Grant and I found an amazing Chinese restaurant. We ate there, and went back to the hotel and played cards and just hung out. Overall that was a good day.

Sunday we took a train back into Venice. We had an option of going to the Biennale with Francesco or touring an idol (the church kind, not rock & roll) with Emilio. Grant, Jinny, Tyler and I were the only humanities students who opted to see the Biennale, but boy was it worth it! It's an exhibit of all different countries proposing different ideas (from architects) on how to improve their countries integrated with helping to solve social problems. It was really cool and had amazing art exhibit.
Then we trained back to Rome. Boy
VeronaVeronaVerona

Outside of a church
was that a long train! I finished the 5th Harry Potter on the train and then ended up crying. It was silly.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The Doge's PalaceThe Doge's Palace
The Doge's Palace

Jinney and Me
The BiennaleThe Biennale
The Biennale

Jinney and Me
VeniceVenice
Venice

Cute exhibit for a museum!
VeniceVenice
Venice

Grant and me on top of St. Mark's


Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb