Barcelona- salsa, sangria and the sun...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
May 26th 2005
Published: May 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Too Hott!!!Too Hott!!!Too Hott!!!

Really, it was hot... but that could be remedied with a jump in the ocean...
Today we are in Madrid. I realized last night, on our very clean hostel bed, that this very moment I have wanted for myself for a long time now. Of course, unsure of what it will all look like, and here it is. Just like that. Madrid so far, very cool!. But before I get to Madrid. I have to tell you a few stories about Barcelona. I deeply, deeply feel in love with it. For many reasons…the first the beaches, then the food and then constant blaring of my favorite kind of music..TECHNO!!!!!!! I love it! I can’t get enough of Barcelona. Three days was such a short amount of time and leaving meant I have to get my butt in gear for school. What?

Anyway, Barcelona started with the night train from Paris.. We ended up with a very rude and exasperated woman who sighed and heaved over every movement, or comment we made. She constantly rolled her eyes and her body language proved she had something up her…you know what… ughhh… we needed to unwind at the dining car.

There we were amongst, yet again college frat boys… and were very relived to met a decent
On our nigth train...On our nigth train...On our nigth train...

goodbye paris....thats for sure
male around our age. Marcus…. Oh what do you say about Marcus…. Well, he wants to be an actor…. And I think we all know how I feel about actors. But we let him talk and found him to be super funny. ( Mishu my dog!!!) tear…. Haha

Our hostel was in this beautiful square…actually the hottest place to be. Yeah! Kabul (the hostel name) was very hip and had a great vibe….internet was free and accessible, and there was a free breakfast. Nice!

I couldn’t believe it, but our dinner plans never started until after 9, and I thought that it would be impossible to be on Spanish time, after all I am a morning person, but the Spanish sun never seemed to set and when it did it was the start of a whole new kind of day. I found it easy to wake up to it, even after a few hours of sleep. People just don’t sleep!

Amy and I found ourselves at the beach for 6 hours one day! It was perfect! We had a late lunch that day and topped it off with Sangria. SO with the sun, sangria and a full
Oh Marcus!!!Oh Marcus!!!Oh Marcus!!!

hmmmm...first impressions....
tummy of paella( amazing rice with seafood, a very popular dish out here)..we were ready to lay out. People would constantly come up to you and ask you to buy things…like jewelry, water, beer, ect..even a massage. That sounded too amazing…I couldn’t turn it down. SO for 10 euros…really cheap…I had a 30 min. massage on the beach. I could have died, it was complete heaven….

It was in Barcleona where I felt I was on a REAL vacation. It is hard work walking about and trying to see all that there is to see, because your fearful your never going to be able to experience it again. We didn’t get to see very much, but I KNOW I will return to Barcelona.

Oh..man.. there is so much to write about…. The first night we arrived…. We found this great local hang out by the beach…..and that night was salsa night, I had to go…. Amy was just as excited! All night we keep getting asked to dance…bailamos senorita? I couldn’t say no… and I wanted to practice my dance moves...but Miss Amy Michelle broke all the guys hearts…. It was great! She would say no, then the boys would sadly return to their group of friends….then after a song or two, and gaining self composure and a new found confidence, they would ask her again, to be rejected again…. Amy kinda liked it..hehe

So there are not too many pictures….. I couldn’t find an outlet any where....that was the biggest bummer of the hostel….


Advertisement



26th May 2005

lucky!
Oh Heidi.. you're just so lucky to be able to have all these great experiences! I wish I would have appreciated it more when I travelled (when I was stationed on the ship)... Please do keep us updated with your awesome adventures! - Lindsay
26th May 2005

i am glad you are having fun hey guess what happened last night i got into a bad car crash and my car is gone but i am ok my back and neck hurts but am ok. thank God it was a three car pill up and i was the middle car wasn't my fault at all it was the car behind me ran into me going about 60. well at lest no one was hurt
27th May 2005

Si, mas Sangria!
Barcelona was great, relaxing and felt like a vacation. I actually got a little tan!! I need to go back, no time to see it all or even relax enough. We learned a lot and it got me thinking about my life, it's about time for that. We went to this amazing garden designed by Gaudi, he is genious, his work is inspired by nature and he also does some beautiful mosaics...truly great. I wish we could have seen more. I'll just have to go back!! Now we are in Madrid. It is realllllly hot, but a great city, very alive. We are getting used to a siesta and late dinner!
30th May 2005

Yeah, I’d like to order two large pizzas, one with pepperoni and double cheese and one with bell peppers and anchovies. What? Do what? I thought this was the Domino’s online order website. It’s not? Well then, what is it? A what? A travel blog? For who? Who’s Heidi and Amy? Well anyway, since I’m here…. Hello Heidi and Amy! Sounds like you’re enjoying your worldwind tour of Mamma Earth. Isn’t the planet a magical place? Brimming with wild adventures and breathtaking sights and sounds and unforgettable experiences and - hey! That guy just took your purses! Policia! Policia! Remember - at the end of the day, if you have any leftover euros, you can always Western Union them back to your ailing uncle in Sequim so he can afford electricity to get on the internet and read your journal here again…. And always remember this: Right now you’re living what most people can only dream of. Enjoy the slumber. P.S. If it isn’t too much trouble, do you think you can stop by a nearby Madrid Domino’s and pick up those pizzas for me? Thanks. - Mahatma Kane Jeeves
10th June 2005

"I can-NOTeven handle!"
You two are quite the comics! It sounds like you are ummm..meshing with the locals; I won't kid ya, you both are TOO American! haha. Yeah, those europes can sniff out U.S. blood. I was rolling with laughter when I read about Amy breaking hearts. I can imagine the scenario and see her delighting in the attempts, but non-chalantly turning her hand upward and snuffing them off as they arrive to the table. Then of course smirking as they walk away...too funny! Welp, I really wish I was there...mostly to devishly indulge in the gelatto AND cheap fashion finds! By the way, you both look glamorous! =) - Chelseeeeee

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb