What an adjustment!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
May 31st 2005
Published: May 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Prado MusuemPrado MusuemPrado Musuem

This was very close to where Amy and I are staying. Later we went to the Jardin Botaniclas...The botanical garden....pretty
It is almost too much! Its true there is a real vibe and energy in Madrid. You can't seem to find it anywhere else. At least so far that I have looked. It has been quite an adjustment, even for me, who tried to be as prepared as I could.

Its just, now, instead of "vacationing" and taking everything in, in such a small amount of time, I am now trying to survive. EVERYTHING is different and strange, almost wrong. But thats becuase I don;t know any better. And hen I do it should all make more sense. There is no sense of a "quiet hour" everyone includng construction workers are working at 1 in the morning because the sun has finally settled and a nice breeze in coming in. It's nuts!

I am in school in the mornings...meeting interesting people all who know at least one other language beside their native language...and fluently. People are just a little bit off here at Canterbury. Only becuase I think it requires those who desire this kind of life to be a bit odd. So that led me to believe that I must be strange as well. It really ins't every
In the GardensIn the GardensIn the Gardens

It was a hot day of course..but we frolicked through the gardens like little fairies....at least I did..;)
day people leave their comfortable lives and seek one that requires them to do things strnage and unusal things at interesting times of the day. But the 2 hour siesta thing is real and I have completely embraced that.

Anyway, lots of fun homewrok to do. yeah right... But I'm looking at two Apt. later tonight....One in a really nice area in MAdrd...apparently really posh..and I am getting it at a great deal, and the other in a more "english" speaking part of MADRID. Both are very great in their location, and about the same price, so it will be determined by the roommates...I hope they aren't terrible. I think one may be a hot "football" player... we'll see...😉 j/k




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Hey Ya'll!!Hey Ya'll!!
Hey Ya'll!!

Our first roommate in Madrid was Vanessa, she's from Texas ya'll!!! She was fun and cute and I will actually go and visit her while she is studying in Sevilla! Hey Vanessa!
Seista!!! ZZZZZZSeista!!! ZZZZZZ
Seista!!! ZZZZZZ

For the first few days...I slept and slept, and slept.....it was crazy.... the heat would make you sooo tired and eventually you would pass out!
Amy at a cafe by our Hostel!Amy at a cafe by our Hostel!
Amy at a cafe by our Hostel!

Senora? Cafe con Leche por favore..... I didn't know about the milk..... but what do you do? hahaha


31st May 2005

A Spanish New York
No worries Heidi, you will be Señorita Carrie here soon enough! Thankfully the weather has calmed down, and yes, there was even Rain in Spain today! While Heidi is at school, I´m on my own for 4 1/2 hours. I have been taking walks, going to the Museo del Prado and the local parks, just exploring around. It´s a crazy city, but very cool. And hey, what can I say, it has the best gellato shop EVER! It´s all good ;) Tomorrow I am off to find an English bookstore since I am almost done with Anna Karenina. - Amy
31st May 2005

thats cool i love reading your jourals i so wish i could go run around the world. - cindi
3rd June 2005

Ola Senoras!
I'm glad that you guys are having such a blast in Europe. I seen all the photos and comments. I am sure that the views are breath taking and fabuloso. Take care and may God continue to keep you and watch over you. God Bless! - Edith
8th June 2005

smile for my lovely ladies
hi my girls! I'm sitting in my comfy apartment in Venice Beach reading your journal and imagining what it's like...thank you so much for sharing your experiences on your blog...so fun! you are seeing and experiencing SO much...what's different about the people? What doesn't feel right? I'm so proud of both of you!! You can rent an apartment with a work visa?? Tell me more!! What do you wish you had known before you left that you know now?? I love you! Stephanie - stephanie says....
9th June 2005

Off to camp I go!
Hey Girly, wow your adventure sounds so fun. I so wish I could be there with you. I love techno music and that is so cool you can hear it so often unlike over here. I really miss talking to you. I am so proud of you and just embrass life with everything you have. Your are always in my prayers. Love you, Charissa - Charissa
10th June 2005

Hey Heidi
Hey Heidi! I totally forgot the site you gave me so I googled it. I've read a few of your journals and it sounds like you are having a blast, but I'm sure its also difficult to adjust to these new life styles. I hope all is well and it continues to get better! I'll come back and check on you again :) Take care! - Ryan - Ryan

Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb