Barcelona, Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
September 12th 2012
Published: October 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Atlanta, Ga to Barcelona, Spain


I depart Atlanta not knowing what to expect from this new experience. I am excited, but a little nervous and anxious about this trip. I have a tight itinerary, and one missed train can mess everything up. I try not to think about this, as once I start my travels, I have noone to depend on but myself.

The flight to Barcelona was smooth and uneventful, and upon arrival, I was starting to get excited. I knew I would not have the currency issues I have had in the past, for I purchased a little currency before I left home just in case of an ATM issue or anything else. I clear customs, and off I go. I did use the ATM, and I had no issues. I ask some airport workers how to get to the main train station, and once I got on the right bus, off I went. I find the main train station, purchase a one-way ticket, and off I go to the stop where my map and instructions say my hostel is close too. I exit the stop, and after wondering what to do, and where to go, I find my way. It is kinda funny, for I just seem to walk around, but finally I just go on gut instinct. Once close to my hostel, I could not find the street. I asked some locals, and some I could tell did not want to speak to me, for they just told me they did not understand or speak English. I did find one guy that helped me, and once I did find the street, my hostel was right around the corner. I was so happy to see the sign with the hostel name.

I could not check in yet, for I was quite early, so I went to the common room to just relax. All was good now, so I could just chill out. The hostel was new, and they did not have the rentable lockers yet. You could leave your personables, but at your own risk. I decided to just wait it out. Once my time to check in came, I proceded to do so. When I got to my room, I noticed someone elses stuff on my assigned bed. I locked my stuff up in a locker, told the front desk and decided to go check out the city.

When I came back to the hostel, my bed still was not clean. I proceded to tell the front desk three times, and finally I asked them if I could just move to a new bed, for I wanted to lay down for a nap. They said okay, and I moved my stuff to a new locker. First day in the books. What excitement was going through my head, for I knew tomorrow would be a big day.

I awake with a mission. I wanted to see the city, but I also wanted to go to the Olympic Stadium where the 1992 games were held. I decided to get on a Hop-On Hop-Off bus. The bus took us by many fascinating and beautiful places including La Sagrada Familia which is the larget church in Barcelona. I hopped of the bus and went for a tour. I walked up to this massive structure and stood in awe. There was construction going on around the church, but it was beautiful none the less. I got in the que, paid my money and went in. What a beautiful interior this church had. I walked around and made many photos both inside and out, and back to my bus I went. My main objective was to go to the Olympic Stadium, and this was my next stop. I got off the bus, and went to the stadium. It was free to enter, so I went in and walked around as far as I could. I made many photos here of this beautiful structure, and then I decided to walk around where the Olympic village would have been. It had a very open courtyard, and as I was walking I could only imagine how many people would have been there in 1992 for the games.

While walking, I stumbled on a fenicular tram or cable car (Telefèric de Montjuïc) which goes up to the top of Montjuic mountain where a castle or old military fort on top of Montjuic hill called Castell de Montjuic was located. I paid the fee, and up I went. What a beautiful sight from so far up in the sky. Up, up, up the mountain I went. Once at he top, I exited and went to tour the fort. It was complete with draw bridge, and I was able to walk the grounds, as well as go to the top of the fort which had a panaramic view of Barcelona. Beautiful and stunning are the only words I can say here. After some time here, I make my way back down on the cable car. Once down, there was one more thing I wanted to do. I wanted to swim in the Olympic pool. I make my way there, and when I go in to pay the fee, I was told I would have to wear a swimmers cap. I paid the money, got my cap, and in I went. There were more than one pool, so I swam in both the indoor and outdoor pools. Wow! The lanes were huge, and the lengths of the pool are exhausting. I have a better respect of the Olympic swimmers now. I was tired after two laps. I stayed a couple of hours, and I decided I wanted to get back to the hostel.

Once back to the hostel, I decided I wanted to walk up and down the famous Las Ramblas which was a popular street for the tourists. I preceed to do so, and once I buy a few souvenirs, back to the hostel I go. I have a busy day tomorrow, and I will need a lot of rest for I am just now getting use to the local time, and my next few days will be quite busy if I follow my itinerary.

I awake the next morning, and I knew I would have to check out, but I also knew that I had a night train to my next destination. I did not want to lug around my backpack, so I asked if I could just store it in the common room at the hostel. I was told yes, and at this point in my trip, I guess I was less cautious as when I arrived, for I just left my stuff unguarded for several hours. I proceeded to walk around the city at some of the sights that I remembered from the bus, and I decided I wanted to at least get my feet in the Mediterranean Sea. I make my way to the beach, and I decide I want to lay out for a little while. I have my swim trunks and towel with me in my day bag, so I find a place to change, rent a locker for my stuff, and to the beach I go. I lay out for a little while, get in the Sea up to my waist, and then I was fully satisfied with my Barcelona trip. I get out of the Sea, go back and change and collect my things from the locker, and back to the hostel to collect my backpack I go. Once I have my belongings, I make my way to the train station for my overnight train. What a wonderful beginning to my adventure.


Additional photos below
Photos: 243, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb