Paris, France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 14th 2012
Published: October 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Barcelona, Spain to Paris, France


Paris Paris. I love visiting this city. I come in from a very comfortable overnight train, one in which I had a reclining seat and not a bed. Still very comfortable, and much cheaper. I have been to Paris several times before, and I was quite familiar with the train station and where my hostel was located. I make my way there, and within a matter of minutes, I was at my hostel checking in. It is actually quite nice to not have to stress about locating the hostel. Anyway, as in Barcelona, I was not able to go up to my room yet, so I rented a locker to store my back pack, and off on my Paris adventure.

I really did not have a large agenda while I was visiting Paris, as I have been here and done most of the major sights in the past. I did want to do two things in particular. I wanted to visit the memorial sight of Princess Diana, and I wanted to tour the Paris Catacombs. Off to find the memorial and visit the catacombs.

I make my way to tour the Paris catacombs. It takes a little time on the train, for the catacombs station is pretty far away from the station where my hostel is located. I did go and que up in the line, and I stood there for an hour or so. The problem is that the doors close at 4:00 and I was about thirty or so from the door when they would not let anyone else in. The only day I could return would be on Monday, however, most of the museums are closed on Monday's. Oh well...maybe on my next Paris visit, for I leave Paris on Monday night and go to Rome. What a bummer. I feel like I have wasted a good part of my afternoon.

I decided to try to find the memorial now. I printed off the street name, as well as a photo of the tunnel in which the memorial was located. Now I had to find it. I take the metro to the Arc de Triomphe stop. I exit the train, go up the stairs, and there is this massive structure across the street. I took some photos, and then I make my way down one of the most popular shoping districts or streets in the world; Avenue des Champs-Elysees. I had to get to the end of this street before I could continue following my directions. There are many people, and about all of the popular high end stores you could imagine. About half way down, there was some sort of protest going on with many policeman around. I went over to get a peek, and soon realized that was not for me. After about twenty to thirty minutes, I was at the end of this street. Now...where is my next street? I walk for a good fifteen minutes looking for the name of the street that I printed out, and I finally found it. I make my way up the street not knowing how far I would have to walk. I was walking and walking, then I just happened to look around and I found the memorial. I went over to it, and I spend a few solace moments there. I took some photos, viewed the tunnel area, and off towards the Eiffel Tower I went.

I thought I was going the right direction, for I could see the Eiffel Tower in the distance, and I figured I could figure out the streets as far as finding the right one to get there. I walk past the Notre Dame, but I decided not to cross the river to go and tour this. I just gazed at this beautiful structure for the most part. The Eiffel Tower kept getting closer and closer. What an awesome sight. I took several photos while walking. The sight was actually more beautiful than the photos. Anyway, I made my way there, and qued up in the line to go to the top. This is one of the most amazing sights and views of Paris. I love going to the top, and in reality it is relatively cheap considering the lifetime of memories you can store up from just being up there. This was the first time I have ever been to the top when the sun was setting and it was starting to get dark. Stunning, beautiful, breathtaking are three words that come to mind. To see the sun just disappear like it did and night fall was absolutely amazing. Words can't describe. I spend a little time on top, and I make my way down. I wanted to get back before it got really dark. I remembered the way back to the train station without any hitches (once again..very nice feeling), and made my way back to go in my hostel room.

Got settled in my hostel, and I decided to go sit out at the little park behind the hostel. Very relaxing. Went back to my room to get some shuteye. Tomorrow would be a very busy day, for I was taking an early train to go and tour the beaches at Normandy.

Upon return from Normandy, I go back to look around at the Eiffel Tower once again. I walk around just gazing at this massive structure. I got me a gelato, and sat down to eat it across from the Eiffel Tower while watching so many, what appeared to be new comers, seeing the Eiffel Tower for the first time. What amazement was on their faces. It still excites me when I go there, and I have been several times now.

Well.. what to do now? I decide to go to the Louvre and eat a bite outside at the pyramid. I had no intentions of touring the Louvre, for I did this before, and I really was just killing time before my night train. The que's were quite long anyway. I had a nice snack, watched the people, and then I decided to go back to the hostel to retrieve my belongings and then go to the train station. Another wonderful visit and experience in Paris.


Additional photos below
Photos: 111, Displayed: 26


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb