Munich, Germany


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
September 24th 2011
Published: March 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Prague, Czech Republic to Munich, Germany


I arrive in Munich excited about being there during Octoberfest. In the train station, I already notice that some of the men are wearing leder-hosen and the women are dressed in the long colorful and checkered dresses. I started to get excited, for I have heard of this, but never experienced. Many people travel a lot of miles to come to the home of Oktoberfest - Munich. I am one of them. I am not a real big drinker, but there were many that took up my slack I am sure. The beer steins are huge mongus over here. I have been to Munich before, and it is one of my favorite cities. I leave the train station to go to my hotel. Munich is the only city that I did not stay in a hostel. I booked a hotel at the Holiday Inn, for I had free reward nights there. My particular hotel was about fifteen minutes to the main part of town, Marianplatz, and I have stayed here before, and I knew my way around. I solely rely on the trains as my form of transportation, and my hotel was in a pretty good location close to a train station. Once at my hotel, I check in and go to my room. I get the biggest kick out of staying at hotels on foreign countries. The television, at least in my case, has a welcome message to you in the foreign language. Pretty cool. Didn't want to stay in the room, so I made my way back to the Marianplatz. I was hungary, and I wanted to eat at the Hofbräuhaus. This is a famous place in Munich, and it is one of my favorite places to go for good German music. Once arriving, I noticed how crowded it is, for all of the tourists from different places and countries. I find me a table to sit, and most people you just meet, sit with, and just have a really good time with. I had a ball with the people from my table. There were Swiss, English, Dutch, Polish and Americans at my table and surrounding area. How fun it is to communicate. I truly get a kick out of this. There was one Polish guy that looked to me exactly like a young John Travolta when he played Vinny Barbarino. The Americans at my table ( Gannon and Bridgett) pointed him out to me, and said " look at that Vinny Barbarino over there" Pretty funny. I left out of there and decided to walk around Munich. There were street musicians playing, families dancing, people everywhere. So much fun. I did not stay out very late, for I was pretty tired. I went back to my hotel to rest, for I knew tomorrow I would be walking a good bit at the real Oktoberfest.

I awoke in anticipation of this new day. I had received some information from my hotel about how to go and do at Oktoberfest. I made my way there. I got off the train and walked with he masses. You could see the Oktoberfest from a long ways away. Once inside the large complex or area ( it really was just a large open area), I was amazed. There were so many people. Many dressed for the occasion. There were rows on both sides of the main walking area that appear endless, and there were food places and rides, and souvenir shops. My mind was telling me it was like Six Flags all rolled up together in a smaller locale. There were many main tents that represented the many types of German beer or beer houses. So many people in and around each one. I went into the Hofbräuhaus one to see what the attraction was, and words can't express what my eye's beheld. Again,so many people and so many tables, waiters and waitresses almost running with the food and drink avoiding onlookers like me as they went. There was a huge center area where a band was playing on a stage. At certain parts of the song, the crowd would stand and cheer and toast each other. What a mess was all spilled on the floor I am sure, and most likely very sticky. No one seemed to care, and people were having an absolute ball. I did not feel all that comfortable by myself, so I decide to just walk around. I did this, and then I made my way back to the center of town. I can now say I have experienced the real Oktoberfest. It was fun, but I would rather be with a crowd and not single if I had my choice. Seems like it would be more fun. I could have bellied up to a table with others, but I decided not too at the time. I had an early flight to catch the next morning, and I decided to walk around the main square and then finally back to my hotel. My train ride to the airport was uneventful, but it did take around an hour. Good thing I left as early as I did.

Once again, I have embarked on a wonderful enlightening trip that so many people would like to take. I feel very fortunate to be able to travel the way I do, and I realize one day it will come to a close. Until it does, I will keep on keeping on to many new and wonderful adventures and experiences.


Additional photos below
Photos: 117, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb