barcelona day 4


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
April 18th 2010
Published: April 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Barcelona day 4? indeed... despite my attempt to get out of this country, i am still here. Barcelona´s main airport closed as I was sitting on my plane to Madrid.

What ensued after the airport closure can be summed up with one word: chaos. Every airline´s ticket counter looked like an Apple store on the first day the iphone came out. After waiting in the wrong line for 2 hours, i realized that I couldn´t do anything anyway, and went back into the city of Barcelona. Fortunately my hostel had a room for me tonight. I am going to move into a hostel with 2 girls I met a day or so ago for 2 nights before my scheduled flight out of barcelona on wednesday (fingers crossed that the airport is open...).

After getting back to my hostel around 4, I went out to get a late lunch/dinner. For the past few days I have been eating nonstop donuts and kfc... the word fillet is the same in english and spanish, so it makes it pretty easy for me... the donuts just taste good. Today I ventured out there and got a spanish sandwich and fried. Not too adventurous, but it is not kfc... and the server was authentically spanish. I asked him if he spoke english (which i learned is hablos anglais)... he paused for a few seconds and pointed at a picture of the hamburger. Anyway, I´ve noticed that the sandwiches in Spain have very little meat. You get just one slice of very thin deli meat and the rest is lettuce and tomato. Maybe that is another reason spain is not obese.

Also, something they don´t tell you in the guidebooks is that if you want to fit into the spanish culture, wear a leather jacket. I don´t know if it´s just in season or whatever, but I have seen the young, the old, the women and the men all wear different colors and styles of leather jackets. I have seen literally a pack of 10 or so barcelonian students all wearing similar black leather jackets... and if you´re a girl, wear boots.

I think to keep myself occupied, I am going to start keeping track of these observations on barcelonian culture... tonight I am going to the dancing magical fountains and hope to see them dance... but with my luck, they will probably be turned off on sundays.

Advertisement



20th April 2010

Regarding the leather jackets
Hi Mike and Kathy, leather jackets is something people wear in Barcelona during Spring time and Autum. It's a tome of the year in which is not too warm not to weat a jacket and not to cold to wear a coat, so leather jackets just make it perfect for you to keep warm: not cold not hot ;-) I hope this insider comment helps you understand why there are so many leather jackets out in the street. Saludos, Miriam www.barcelonastuff.com

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb