barcelona day 5


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Sitges
April 19th 2010
Published: April 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

What a beautiful day #5 in Barcelona. This morning I woke up to my alarm completely in disarray... It was the first time since I´ve arrived that I had slept through the whole night. Usually I wake up before my alarm goes off. After a few minutes of grapling in the dark, I remembered I was in Barcelona...

Today I went to Sitges, which is a beach or resort area about 40 minutes train ride away from Barcelona. Firstly, the train tickets were 6 euro round trip, which means 3 euro one way! shocking coming from a country where train is the most expensive mode of transportation!

The beach was a very close walk from the train station. I saw a random assortment of people sunbathing, but it was still fairly empty given it´s a Monday. I also saw an old lady with balloon boobs suntanning shirtless... ugh.

Long story short, I spend the next few hours on the warm sand overlooking the beautiful Mediterranean Sea. The weather was beautiful. Very sunny, but not too hot as there was a cool breeze. I tried going into the water but it was way too cold. I thought i was going to get frost bite standing in the water.

As I was leaving, I stopped by a local supermarket about to buy some water and my usual apples (forgot to mention in the last post that I eat like 2 apples a day to supplement my diet of doghnuts and KFC). This is when I saw their fruit stand with insanely cheap strawberries. I couldn´t understand what the sign said but it looked like 2 boxes for 2 euro (there were around 20 strawberries in each box). So I picked one up along with a giant bottle of water ... total came out to be 1.70 euro... which means that the strawberries were 50 cents! So cheap and insantely delicious. They were a little overipened, but no matter, because I shamelessly finished half on the train ride home and half right now as I´m typing this entry.

update: as i was moving into my new hostel, i almost got robbed! here is the story... I got on the subway to get from my hostel to the new hostel. The subway is almost empty, but I choose to stand by the door and 5 to 6 people surround me. They are all in my personal space, so I move to the next door. As we approach the next station, they move up to the door I am standing at, even though they were already standing next to a door and again surround me. One guy starts asking me directions and at this point, it hits me what is going on, so i immediately move. They got off at this station and I checked my belonging... I always keep my wallet in my front jean pocket, underneath my jacket, and my big bills deep in my bag... so they did not get anything. In a way, now I have a cool story to tell about how i was almost robbed. but I would be teling this story in a different light if I actually lost something valuable... so be careful out there.

Advertisement



21st April 2010

Dude, omg, that is so scary. You were smart!!

Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.112s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb