Barcelona...sangria, tapas and Gaudi


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
May 21st 2009
Published: May 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am back in Spain and loving it! yesterday I strolled around La Rambla, saw the huge market and walked around el barrio gotic to see the cathedral. The market was nuts! I bought fresh strawberry banana juice from a fruit stand. They have everything, full pigs, heads of lambs ( after seeing all the little lambs in Scotland that was gross). I am permanently in relaxation mode here. I'm having a hard time keeping to the program because I love wandering around the streets here. It's so beautiful! After I went for lunch (a full three course Spanish lunch), I ran into a couple I met during my crazy barcelona train ride who told me to go to Park Guill. Park guill is the park from Gaudi's concepts of a fantasy land park. It is amazing! I fell in love with Barcelona and Gaudi. I went to casa de Gaudi and saw all his furniture concepts. Afterwards I came back to my hostel and met a whole bunch of people. we all went out for tapas and Sangria.

Today I had big plans...and then I found the ports and the mediteranean. I walked around and went to the aquarium where they have TIGER SHARKS!!! I loved it. Then I got lost but had some lunch and walked around the beach.

Then I went to the sangra familia which is AMAZING!! I was in awe! I took the lift up the towers and walked down. Gaudi was brilliant and really took inspiration from the coolest things! After my legs felt they were going to give out so I went back to the hostel and hung out. There was a water show on at the fountain in placa espana with some friends from the hostel.

What a beautiful place.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb