w/c 06.07.08


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
July 12th 2008
Published: July 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Calle GironaCalle GironaCalle Girona

dead on a Sunday
Sunday 6 July 2008
To make up for the lack of exercise last week, I did 3 videos today. Feelin good... Watched the rest of Mononoke Hime, which was good, then proceeded to watch more Dexter. Alex is REALLY getting into it. The opening credits always make me hungry when he cooks the pork, then I spend the whole episode thinking about eating pork... So I went to bed feeling a little hungry. For pork.

Monday 7 July 2008
Didn't have a very good night's rest - woke up early morning because my feet were really itchy. No, I don't have athlete's foot or some itching disease - I've been bitten by frickin' mossies!!!!! I've got about 6 bites and I couldn't get back to sleep for ages :-(

Tuesday 8 July 2008
I decided it was time to use the Stop Itch cream I brought with me, but I noticed it expired in November 2007! Still used it though - seemed to work...

Wednesday 9 July 2008
Had the day off today - did absolutely nothing but relax :-D

Thursday 10 July 2008
Had a heated discussion in my afternoon class about racism in Spain. The
View from the terraceView from the terraceView from the terrace

The top of Sagrada Familia in the background
man doesn't think that there is a racial discrimination problem in Spain, but both the women disagreed. There is clearly a lot of racism in this backwards country! But then the women started talking about whether they were racist, and they had a difference of opinion there! Went over by 10 minutes, so clearly a hot topic! I asked them if they wanted to go over anything in particular for the last week of classes, and one of the women said songs and listening exercises, so I think I'll do “Everyone's A Little Bit Racist” from Avenue Q...!
Today was the inauguracion of a new Japanese buffet restaurant down the road, so we decided to check it out. They were really busy, but worth the wait - all you can eat sushi and teppanyaki, as well as various hot foods and LOADS of desserts! I ordered a green tea, which wasn't on the menu and now I know why - it cost EUR 3.95!!! Won't be getting that again...

Friday 11 July 2008
Finished watching the second series of Dexter - was OK, definitely not as good as the first series, and not that bothered about watching the third
View from the terraceView from the terraceView from the terrace

all the tops of buildings we can see from our terrace
if they make it... Was meant to go to Sant Pol de Mar with Paula but that didn't happen. Maybe next week.
Arranged to meet Lucy through the Barcelona Connect magazine - ended up having a drink in Gracia. She's seems OK, 33 years old, travel agent, speaks very fast in Spanish! And she paid for my drink :-) I think I might check out some more intercambio people...
Watched Jumper and There Will Be Blood with Alex - what a waste, both films were absolutely RUBBISH!! Jumper was just boring with no real character build up, and There Will Be Blood was so bad I fell asleep and after halfway through the film, I skipped the rest of it and watched the end scene. Don't think I missed much. I feel cheated. 3.5 hours of my life wasted...

Saturday 12 July 2008
Mercadona first thing - oh joy! Didn't have too much to carry back though, so nice stroll.
Went to Tasha's for 20:00 for some poker fun. We were the last to arrive after Bill, Mark and Silvia. Played 3 games - results of the night:
Game 1
1st - The Shark (aka Mark)
2nd - Drew
3rd - The Butcher (me)

Game 2
1st/2nd - Butch (me) and the Sundance Kid (Alex)
3rd - Either the Red Baron or The Shark

Game 3
1st - The Butcher
2nd - The Red Baron (aka Bill aka Howard)
3rd - The Sundance Kid

So all in all a good night - we're up a total of EUR 29.00, so we're having lunch next week at the new Japanese restaurant down the road :-D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb