Art,art and more ART!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
July 20th 2005
Published: July 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Picking up from where we left off last episode: Our dinner party grew to 9 and we had a great tapas dinner. Tapas originated not too long ago, when bartenders started putting plates on tops of drinks to keep bugs out. Later, they began to put small snacks on the plates. Now, it has evolved into a sort of buffet style dining where they count your toothpick to charge you. It was a lot of fun. The next day, we went to the train station to book my ticket to Madrid and then met the group for Sunday dinner (lunch). I can´t remember the name of the dish, but it is a VERY large pan with rice and typically seafood. I ate of lot of seafood that meal! We then had another siesta (it´s the only thing you can do in that heat). That evening, we went to the archeological museum. It recently won best museum in Europe and I can totally understand why. It was fantastic! One of the guys in our group when to 4 or 5 days in a row! Afterward, some of the group came over and hung out. Heinrich and I scraped together a pretty good dinner. Later, we went to a few pubs. We ended up at a German pub of all places. I was fun though. The next day, we searched for a few gifts for people at home without much success. Then, I caught the train to Madrid. That evening, I just explored the city a bit and got my bearings. The following day, I went to the Prado. That museum was really fantastic. It took me 7 hours and I still felt like I rushed. After a nap, I checked out a few other random sites. The next day, I went to the Sofia and the Thessyen-Bor.... Museum. The former is the home of Picasso´s Guernica and a host of other relatively modern art. The later, is an excellent introductory art history course. Oh, I also finally found a pumice stone! My feet are rebeling from the torture I´m putting them through. Who knew you had to get those in the pharmacy? Jeez, this entry is getting long! My apologies...take a break here if you need. Maybe a coffee or restroom break? The following morning, I left for Barcelona. Upon arrival, I waited in an hour and a half line to book my train to Paris. The cheapest seats were already booked solid. So, I got a cabin...and I´m actually happy I was forced into it. Sleeping in the seating area is pretty rough. I, then, met Therin and Elida (a couple from Denton I met in Alicante). We made arrangements to meet for dinner, their treat! That´was so generous of them. They said that I´m the age of their children and they wished their kids had the guts to do this. Then, I met some people from the hostel and went out a bit. Today, I intended to spend the day looking for all of Gaudi´s architecture in the city. I made it to a few, including Sangra Familia and the park. I´ll post pics in a bit. I quickly ran out of energy. I´ll have to continue the search tomorrow. While walking back, I saw a flier about a Spencer Tunick show. I´m a bit of a fan of his work, so I´m really excited. I´m going to go see that this evening! I wish so of my art friends were here to come enjoy and discuss it with me. Well, until next time...adios.

Advertisement



22nd July 2005

Glad that you are with great people that are taking care of you while you are with them. That's really sweet of them. Man, it sounds like so much fun! Geez, wish I could be there too girl. It was so great talking with you the other. I miss you and can't wait to see you sometime next month. Luv u girl and can't wait to catch up on all of your adventures. Take care of yourself and your tired little tootsies.
25th July 2005

this one wasn't too long, I think its more the others haven't been long enough. Its to live vicariously through someone traveling abroad when they don't tell us enough about what they're doing. ;)

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0945s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb