I made it!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Alicante
July 16th 2005
Published: July 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I´ve made it to Alicante. The trip was a bit rough...but I´m here and that´s what matters. I stayed in Barcelona on Thursday night and didn´t want to leave. I loved that city! I have decided to cut a couple of cities out of my plans so that I can go back there for a few more nights. I was just great! Art and beaches and great architecture! I wasn´t able to get a seat on the train I had planned to take to Alicante and had to take a later train. I emailed Heinrich to let him know that I would be late...he was meeting me at the station. During a layover in Montpellier, France I decided to grab a bottle of wine as a thank you for letting me stay with them. You would not believe the trouble I had, I France of all places, finding a bottle of wine!! When I got to Alicante he wasn´t there...he hadn´t gotten my email yet. So, I started walking to his apartment. After a couple of kilometers I decided that walking around at 11pm wasn´t the best idea...since I didn´t know how safe the city was (I have since be informed that it is really safe). So, I took a taxi to his place. I got there and rang the bell but a woman answered and said he wasn´t there. I could barely understand her and wasn´t sure if he didn´t live there or just wasn´t there. She told me that it was 3 left. I had no clue what this meant. Finally, I decided to try the third buzzer on the left. Just as I hit it, Heinrich walked out on his way to check for an email from me. We scared each other to death! But, all was well! I must have the greatest luck in the world (that´s about how Erin and I found each other!). We stayed up pretty late chatting. Today, we went to the castle. It was so cool You wander around and there are little modern art galleries tucked into little rooms all over. It was like an art scavenger hunt. After that, we wandered the old city and the beach area. For lunch we went to a cervesaria (which doesn´t refer to beer oddly enough). You order all of these tiny subs. We couldn´t really read much of the menu...but picked out 8 that had fun or interesting names. 6 of the 8 were great. One was bad and one was REALLY bad. Not too bad, eh¿ I've started saying eh...it's weird...I sound Canadian. Anyway, we came back home for a siesta. I am totally importing siestas! Most of our group was there so we had afew beers and hung out. It´s such a small world. They all know people I know and one couple I knew of but had never met. I've noticed how small the world is on this trip. On 7 occasions, I have run into people that I have met in other places. Some have been weeks and several countries apart. It´s been really weird walking the streets of Interlaken, Rome, Corfu, etc and running into people that you know. So, back to tonight. Our group (of 6) is going to dinner tonight. I should be a lot of fun. Everyone is hilarious! So, I´ll be here two more nights and then I'll head to Madrid, then Barcelona. I think I´m going to make a stop at the Lascoix caves on my way to Paris. From there, Edinbrough to Inverness (Loch Ness) and back to London. I will be staying with a girl that I met in Athens and Corfu in London. Isn´t that nice of her! Then, at long last...home. I´ll be home on Aug. 2 and then will leave for Virginia-DC on Aug. 5 (and stay a week). After that, Ryan wants to come to Denton for his birthday (Aug. 15)...so for those in Denton...I´ll see you soon. I don´t think my traveling will ever end. We supposed to go tubing after going to Denton. I might just die! Bye and love and stuff!

Advertisement



18th July 2005

rather die of having too much fun than boredom. Glad that you are having a good time and meeting such wonderful ppl that take you in! Thats awesome and very kind of them. I hope to see you soon darling. Luv u bunches and miss you terribly!!!!!!!!!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb