Back down from the mountain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
January 21st 2007
Published: January 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

To the Mountain and Back


I´ve successfully spent a weekend retreat at the Monastery at Montserrat. They have a website and you should check it out. A highlight was talking with mom for about 2 min and dad for about 30 seconds. It's great just to know that everything is okay and normal at home. I love you all. The monastery time was all that I could expect. I hiked many of the trails surrounding it and spent some deep time with God. I want to make it clear right now that I'm having a terrific time and have no regrets at all. However, I am leading a completely selfish life right now because I have no accountability to anyone. This thought was bothering me just a bit and God cleared it up at Montserrat. I'm making healthy choices like not boozing it up and stuff, but I don't know if being completely indepedent is the best thing for my personality. I tend to lean that way even in my relationships. However, in a nutshell, God showed me that I'm not as selfish as I claim to be. He showed me how I'm striving everyday to become more and more dependent on Him. And I'm trying more and more everyday to secumb my will to His. I know that doesn't cover half of the complexity of the whole thought process, but it gives you an idea and a conversation starter if you want to discuss the philosophical ramblings of your wandering little brother or son or grandson. Anyways, again, I love you all, and when Dad comes, which I'm super excited about, I've vowed to secumb my will also to his. He will be the boss.
Continuing on this journey which is both a reality and a metaphor,
Brett

Advertisement



21st January 2007

coming to see you
just want to make things clear that I am coming and YOU are the boss. This is your trip, not mine. I am coming to join you and will follow you as you journey where you wish. want to make sure you have my travel schedule: Wed. Jan. 24 Kansas city to Chicago at 2:48 p.m. United 690 Wed. Jan. 24 Chicago to Frankfurt at 6:22 p.m. United 940 Thur. Jan. 25 Frankfurt to Geneva at 11:50 a.m. United 9018 arrival time: 12:55 p.m. will return: Sun Feb. 4 Geneva to Frankfurt at 9:50 a.m. Lufthansa 3661 etc. and will arrive in KC at 6:22 p.m. on Lufthansa 9274
21st January 2007

what to pack
Is there any thing I should pack that you would need? I am bringing your small pack. what about clothes, any suggestions? looks like Geneva could be chilly but the rest of the cities seem to be OK. how was the soccer match in Barca? I will use my Yahoo account from now on. okieallie1@yahoo.com
23rd January 2007

almost
just sitting in KC waiting to fly to Geneva tomorrow.

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb