My Buddy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 26th 2007
Published: January 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Finally

It took a while and quite a few trains, but we're now in Florence.

Hello ya'll. I'm proud to announce the arrival of my travel buddy JerDog. You'll see in the pics that he looks quite splendid. Good news too is that we now have a digital camera. Bad news is I'll probably break it (just kidding Mom). We met in Geneva with absolutely no hitches. He was on time, I was on time. It was all good. My travels took me from Barcelona to Geneva by train (actually 4 trains) through the South of France. I saw some beautiful country from the Pyrenees to the Mediterranean to the Alps. Fantastic train ride. Geneva was blistering cold and I wasn't too fond of it. I was more than ready to leave when dad arrived, but we couldn't catch a train until 5:50 this morning.

Enough of all that complaining. Although a cold front busted through, Barcelona was fantabulous. Gorgeous city. Everyone needs to make a trip there, summer, winter, it doesn't matter. The architecture was truly unique with the Gaudi influence. His Sagrada Familia Temple, even though it was still under construction, was mind-blowing. Add it to the list of "I can't believe I'm standing here looking at this." We're now in Florence (which
JerDog/GalileoJerDog/GalileoJerDog/Galileo

I put him up to posing and he respectfully obliged.
I didn't expect to be in). And it's equally beautiful. So much art and history here. We're going to hit the museums hard tomorrow (if pops can keep up) and then catch a Fiorentina match on Sun. Then, maybe off to Rome (which I didn't expect to see). Pops is a little jet lagged, and my legs are well acclimated to walking all day, but his are not. However, it's absolutly a blessing to have him here. We shared a fantastic meal this evening and talked about everything from love to lonliness. It's great to share my brewing ideas with someone that truly understands me. He is such a blessing from God. I wish that everyone could be here to share these moments with us, but such is not the case. It's sad, but hopefully life is going wonderfully normal at home. I love all of you and enjoy reading your comments. I hope you can tolerate my blabbering.
Brett


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Brett/MachiavelliBrett/Machiavelli
Brett/Machiavelli

It's only fair that I pose too. So here's me doing my best Machiavelli.
Duomo in FlorenceDuomo in Florence
Duomo in Florence

Sweet action church in Florence called the Duomo.


26th January 2007

Soooo good to hear from you both!
Looks like it is warmer in Florence. Several people keep telling me about the snow storm in Europe. We decided KS Jer took it with him! M and EJ are planning on coming to KS the weekend of Feb. 16, so it will be storytime for you two. Blessings and love you both! Mom/Nancy
27th January 2007

Thank you for your messages
So interesting and thank you for sharing. I've read of people spending weeks and sometimes months in monasteries to pray and meditate. Things are normal here. It snows every week. :-) Warmed up this week but we still have lots of piles of snow and it snowed a little this morning. Hi to Jerry. We love you. Blessings.

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb