Walking, Metro, Gaudi, and the Museu Nacional d´Art de Catalunya


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
June 12th 2005
Published: November 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so yesterday I looked up three or four Gaudi Buildings and decided to try and go and see them today...

First walked from the hostel near Vallcarca to La Rambla, quite a long way but at the start it was quite a nice morning, sunny but not too hot, however as I walked along it got more and more cloudy. (But hey, I´m holiday, so can´t really complain.)

There were three examples of Gaudi work along the way, Casa Vicens, La Pedera, and the Batlló Building. The first one was in a side street away from the main tourist route so there was no one else taking photos, however the other two were closer to the centre so they had more people about.

Took a break from the Gaudi stuff to go and look at the Cathedral. The last time I was here 2 years ago, there was a little bit of work being done on the façade. Today the whole façade was covered in scafholding. Ended up taking photos of some Roman stuff instead with the top of the cathedral in the background.

The last Gaudi building I was going to check out was a little out of the way so decided to go to the Museu Nacional d´Art de Catalunya instead. (Also it was a good opportunity to ride on the funicular again.)

The museum is in a great building, and it has good paintings, photography, and sculpture, nice mix so you don´t get bored. Unfortunately it closes at 230pm on Sunday, so I only had 3 hours there. (As an aside, I bumped into a woman who was staying in the same hostel in Granada, when I was there, small world!)

After the museum went to the last Gaudi building on my list, The Pavillions in the Güell building. This was a relatively long way from the centre of the city but the metro makes travelling around the city easy. I have to say was a bit disappointed when I got there, it was closed, fair enough for a Sunday, but outside there were roadworks going on so hard to take a nice picture. When I looked through the fence, things looked a bit run down inside. Took a few photos, obviously from the outside.

Headed back to La Rambla, by this time it was sunny again, which would have made for better photos ... of the things I´d already been to, .... oh well never mind. At least I´m not at work.

Want to see more photos?

Have a look at my website here: http://www.firemanonasailingship.com/photos/





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb