Old University


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Salamanca
May 21st 2013
Published: May 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post


Library entrance.
Classes went well this morning, and I finally got a notebook to organize my notes in. I really like my professors because they are actually teaching me what I need to know. We have an exam on Thursday, which I am really nervous about. Hopefully, I will do well! I found the frog at the University of Salamanca (remember that story) which means I should pass. After lunch we went down and explored the old University of Salamanca. It is extremely large, and still holds lectures. Before Columbus sailed to the new world, he studied at the old building of the University of Salamanca. Ferdinand and Isabelle also were visitors of the University, and have a huge portrait of themselves hanging in the main room. The building is full of Latin titles and is completed with a library full of old books; my paradise! After our trip to the university, we had to hurry and head back to Mester to go to our Salsa dance lesson. Our guide Jesus, was our dance teacher. It was really fun trying to learn some of the moves, yet I was not very good at it. Overall, it was a great experience. The room was

The Universities logo in Latin.
really hot, so we all were sweating, but had a good time. Hopefully I will be able to take classes in the future to help me out. After our dance class, we went home to eat dinner and rest. I leave on Saturday to start my three week journey traveling through the west and south of Spain before I reach my family’s house. I haven’t started to pack and I still need to do laundry. Hopefully it won’t rain so I can hang my clothes, since my host family does not have a dryer. Two more days until my exam!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



A meeting room with the picture of King Ferdinand and Queen Isabelle


Once two stories and a library, but converted in the 16th century to a church room.


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb