Day five. Perfection


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Balearic Islands » Majorca » Santa Maria del Cami
April 27th 2011
Published: April 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, I guess you might find this blog boring, nothing goes wrong, the weather is nice and we don't climb why mountains. We woke up this morning a little early to assess the bike situation, much to our delight Malcom came through and gave us bikes with much better tires I couldn't have been more please. His only miss was leaving the brake quick release lever (pronounce leeever- malcom is British) on all four wheels. I quickly place them in the down position and do a quick fail safe we are off. I suggest heading back to Pollenca without a sidetrack to the mountains. Our intent is to do a mountain climb that is on a peninsula near port Pollenca. The weather is warm and feeling great, so I decide to be a lovely wife and let ed climb this part on his own and I will sacrifice by reading on the beach. Ed, decides to be an equally excellent husband and offers to ride the coast skip the climb today and come back via gorgeous bike paths (bike paths allow cars but they are only allowed to travel 40 kilometers per hour.
So we have a great lunch, in fact lazy and finish our ride easily. Oh I did cut my thumb out of my left glove because it was rubbing. I find cutting the offending seem to work miracles and through the magic of iphone translator and scissor action with my fingers I was allele to borrow a pair if scissors.
Oh, you will be so glad to know that with one day of vacation left we were able to avoid INcA and found the required bike path so hopefully we will not make that mistake next time we come to Mallorca.

Let's see we did have a chance to chat with two young guys who lead the trek travel vacatio s out of the hotel where we are staying. I think they convinced ed to do the tour de France vacation. It's intriguing and if I were a better cyvlilng climber I would do it in a heart beat. You literally get to ride a tour stage hours prior to the road blocks going up for the REAL cyclists come through, at which point you are enjoying food in a trek VIP tent and watching the race!
Amazing
You can do one of the three weeks, how awesome is that? So if anyone is dying to do that with ed in 2012.
Who knows maybe I will train hard and be ready. Actually I think the guys who lead the tour have a great gig, nice hotels, good food and cycling. I asked if the clients are whiny and they said not usually.
Ed can always sprint past me, but I am the queen if endurance at the end of 82 miles today Ed was shifting from side to side on his saddle and I was ready for another 40. It's not that I never get Uncomfortable, although not often, and I would never admit it anyway. Women tend to be better endurance - who is really surprised by that?
So daily recap
82 great miles
Small sunburn
Blue skies
No flats!
No spokes in chain
Great day
Oh and hot water
I no longer smell like onions.


.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb