Final day of cycling. Aka killer mts.


Advertisement
Europe
April 28th 2011
Published: April 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The final day, I woke,or rather didn't wake with a migraine, it involved me making this awful whiny noise somewhat of a growl. Good news after 16 years of marriage Ed seems to understand both my whines and growls. He quickly interpreted to mean trximet, lights off, quiet and Please bring coffee. Not sure how much time passed but he delivered on all things and even brought breakfast. Once the treximet kicked in, my favorite prescription migraine med, I paid him back by dragging on my cycling clothes.

First of all they might be the most awful looking clothes, I refuse to wear jerseys, yes I know they have big pockets, but they also have elastic waist bands, hmmm. Maybe a good look on 23 year old guys, not as much on me. Yes Ed wears them, which is good, I make him carry my stuff, iPhone etc. I do wear running shirts that sometimes have one little pocket so if we separate I can still carry my iPhone and canister of air in case of a flat. I am facing a sewing project, I quit using a bag on the front of my bike and I am going to try to sew waterproof pickets onto my shirts I like. Ok enough in the cycling apparel

Onwards and upwards, to reward Ed for being completely good about my lackluster am I suggested we climb from Bunyola to Coll d'honor and onto Orient. Orient is an incredibly quaint mountain village you are rewarded with after climbing a particularly challenging 8 kilometers, in fairness the last two kilometers go down to Orient although you are still quite high. The grades from Bunyola to Coll d'honor range from 5 to 8 both challenging when you don't get a break. I might have mentioned gears and the beauty of gears before so bear with me, you climb in an easy gear obviously, but no one wants to end up in the easiest gear soon, the goal is to pedal 85 or more rounds per minute. But there is a psychology to knowing you still have one or two gears to drop when you are climbing. Today I had to drop gears sooner than I liked , and at one point, thought I must be in my big chain wheel (que copious amounts of laughter) I was clearly in my small chain wheel and out of gears. Oh well, I settled in and it was good and challenging and not as ling as expected. I posted pics of the top on fb, so check. Then onto Orient for a coffee, the two kilometer stretch between Coll d'honor is funny it is down hill about 50 meters of descent then a nice flat stretch, you could be anywhere it's so flat and hard to tell you are still high up. The sheep are grazing and the air is crisp no humidity.

As an aside, you climb up the mts and there are not any signs saying pie in five miles, or your almost there and when you get to the top there is nary a t-shirt that says I cycled to Coll d'honor to be found, so unlike america. Thank goodness or we would own a few more t-shirts.

An aside on the sheep of Mallorca, they are everywhere, in olive groves and fields, never far away and they wear the best bells, so it is like a pleasant wind chime soundtrack to your ride. I believe that we should start a sheep bell campaign in America, there aren't that many sheep so maybe cows could wear them. Actually after much thought I think republicans should wear them, it would let you know when they are coming and sound more pleasant.

Ok so we have a tiny tiny climb to the cafe in orient have a pleasant coffee I tell ed I am heading down the mountain and home to shower and lounge by the pool, one mountain per day is my limit. I assure him that I want him ti climb back to Coll d'honor and the to Coll d'Sollier onto Sollier... This is the real deal mountains so for the first time ever I am handing him the keyboard. I did make him promise to text me at various summits and valleies so I would know that he is alive.

This is ed:
So, I head back up the mountain we just finished or at least part of it. Then head to soller, which is a big town that is in the mountains but at sea level. I climb 5k to the Coll d' soller, the mt on one side of the town and then take a long but nice decent into the town. That is were the bad stuff starts, to get out it is a 13k climb at an average of 6.5%. To non-cyclists that is a lot, far more than I ever did. It took a good 1.5 hours of almost nonstop climbing but eventually made it. Texted Becky that I was still alive and headed to a blissful 7k decent. From there it was a far easier 5k climb and then finally out of the mts and back to home (of course getting slightly lost on the way home). Thanks to Becky for both the trip and letting mr take that crazy ride
.
I'm back...

On my descent I enjoyed the entire ride, I thought about how much I would like to bring Carrie, Angela, Becky & Julie. We would have a blast cycling and seeing everything.
Plus we would feel so less guilty about dessert at night, unlike Turks and Caicos
Here is the question, who is going to ride a tandem so mom can come? Ok, now picture mom telling us to slow down, maybe she could wear blinders... Just kidding mom, I would be honored to ride a tandem with you, plus I could use the manpower up those mountains.
Had a great time showering, I washed my hair twice, it was luxurious and then I sat poolside and it dried beautifully if I say so myself.

Well hard to leave but anxious to get back to the kids and my own bike for a renewed vigor I. My CT rides.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb