Tuesday


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia
October 15th 2008
Published: October 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was a good day! I got up and went to the library after being internet deprived all weekend. I was there for a little while before I had to go to school. The weather was yucky and a bit rainy. Rachel and I walked to school together. My first class was 6th grade English. The kids were actually pretty good today, then had homework that was due, and of course about only half of them actually did it. They had to write a description about a famous person and read them aloud. Then we did a listening exercise and then we worked on review for a possible exam. I walked around and took turns keeping the kids. They actually paid attention today haha.
My next class was 3rd grade English. I absolutely LOVE this class! I have had them for science before, but today was my first day with them in English. They have different teachers for these two classes so it was interesting. I first showed them a map of the USA and showed them where I was from. Of course it was just easier to show Chicago cuz they have no idea what Indiana or Valparaiso are. But they kept asking me about Indiana Jones. They also knew about Michael Jordan. They asked if we were near Los Angeles and then someone asked me something about the birth of water and I had no idea what they were talking about. Then I showed a big map of Indiana and showed Valparaiso. They didn’t get the correlation between my map of Indiana and how it was a little smaller on the USA map. But none the less.. They asked good questions. I introduced myself and then I asked them all questions about them selves. They were much better than I had anticipated. Ana, the girl who teaches English classes from 3 years old to 4th grade, is wonderful. She is also the teacher who just had her birthday and the party that we went to. She is the only one who actually has good control over the students and utilizes discipline. But the girls were so cute and asked questions and I just had a good day at school!
After school I went to the grocery store with Ceci and Rachel to get some food for the week. Then we went home and I made some tortilla and salad for lunch. Of course it was siesta time, so I took a nap. After siesta we went to the tourism office because we had heard about a mebrilla festival-- it’s a type of fruit. We signed up for this free day trip to a small city nearby to hike and learn about the fruit. It should be interesting. We went to the library again and I got to talk to some people so it made me really happy!! Now we are just making dinner and relaxing. The sun finally came out for a bit today and it was nice. We might go to Granada this weekend. Hopefully the weather stays nice!


Advertisement



15th October 2008

photos
HEY GIRL. could you post photos of the apartment and neighborhood... and your school... I LOVE YOU - We're home now. Mommy

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb