Southspain and shorttrip to Switzerland - For you in english.. enjoy.


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
June 26th 2015
Published: June 28th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Dear Sirs and Mississes (:P)
This will be my first english entry and upfront I want to apologize for some things. Please excuse


• my lazyness, that lets me only produce one entry a month
• my lack of english grammar knowledge, wich will cause some spellingerrors and stuff in this entry
• that this entry is in english and you cannot read that exact excuse, that youre right now trying to read
• any unmentioned events or happenings that you were involved in. Please feel free to add those into the comment-section or remember me of them so I can add them into the blogentry
• any insults


So off we go.. my last blogentry dates back from around 4 weeks ago when I just arrived in Cádiz.
This entry has three locations, Cádiz, Switzerland and Sevilla.

Cádiz
I stayed in a Hostel called Casa Caracol which means House Snail. Like the name says everything was really relaxed. Although I could switch, from my normally in hostels used english, to german, which means the hostel was full of germanspeakers. This was somehow nice and somehow not because we would speak german all the time and neither my spanish nor my english could be improved. The Hostel was extremely familiar and they didnt even had looks on the roomdoors :O. I did not care because normally you can trust the people in hostels.. i hope. There was the possibility of eating at the hostel in the evening and they really prepared great meals for us. There was a great rooftop terrace on which you could chill out but it was alwas very hot, which did not hinder us becaue there where some hammocks and a nice cold beer could cool you down quite good (but you had to refill often :P).
When I arrived in Cádiz by bus the streets were packed with people because the cádizien football club had an important game, that would decide if they could play in a higher league for the next season. So I just put my stuff in my room at the hostel and went out to meet Austin and watched the game with him. Unfortunately Cádiz lost and so there was no fiesta that day. What really surprised me was that the cádizien guys accepted that defeat quite calm and didnt destroy the bar (what I suppose would have happend in Switzerland but how I mentioned the people here are very relaxed (maybe thats the cause for their economic problems :P)).
I spent some nice and sunny das in Cádiz afterwards, was at the beach a few times, went out with Austin and his friends and went with them to languageexchangeges to improve my spanish further.

While I was in Cádiz I decided visit Switzerland for some time to bring some stuff home that I unnecessarily brought and because flights are supercheap.

Switzerland
So after some nice beachy days in Cádiz I left, by BlaBlaCar, for Sevilla from where my plane would take off. BlaBlaCar is a webpage on which you can offer spare seats you have in your car in exchange for money. Usually this is a quite cheap way of transport and it helps both sites and the environment so winwinwin-situation. My driver Alfredo or Alberto, whatever, drove me from Cádiz to Sevilla, where my plane would take off from the next day. I went to my hostel and flew to Zurich the next afternoon. On my way I spent four beautiful hours at Madrid airport where I tried to sleep away some hours on the floor and where I bought a new spanish book. In Switzerland I spent some days in Lucerne and some days in Oberbüren. I had quite some stuffed days, was at lake lucerne with ipressive mountainview, was in the cinema, was in a climbingpark in the woods and saw a musical. I visitied all my grandparents and did some paperwork for my future (which did not really change anything just mad me sad) and listend to some terrible Swiss-German-Zurich-Dialect-Childrenvoice which I will never ever again be able to forget because it made me leave the country just a little faster again.

Sevilla
So I arrived back in warm Sevilla on a late Monday afternoon, took the train from the airport and got then picked up by Marco, my dear bolivian-sevillian friend. He offered me a stay at his place for the first night and helped me looking for a room I could rent in Sevilla, for about a month. Because it was quite late already we decided that I should make the phonecalls the next day and we went to bed. Tuesday morning 08:30 I was being expected at a languageschool which I had contacted the friday before to do a small test to figure out my spanish level. I did that and went to classes that started around 9 o'clock (the teachers aren't always very punctual :D). Unfortunately I only made level A2 because I didn't know anything about the Subjunctive. Which is a strange form of spanish that I think is not used in the same way in German nor in English. Anyways we were about seven students in the class, an english girl, a german girl, two american girls, a japanese girl, a corean girl, a south african guy and me (fyi swiss guy). All of them very cool people and our teacher Maria Jose is really improving my spanish a lot. The spanish lessions are from Monday to Friday, 09:00-13:00 with a break at 11:00. For me this is quite perfect because normally I would sleep at this time anyways. So I didn't miss anything (except sleep). Then after the lessons I was doing some calls to find a cheap place to stay. I was searching and calling for about 2 hours before I gave up and asked the school to give me a place to stay which is a little more expenive but a lot easier :P. They could only give me something starting Wednesday so I was invited to stay a night longer at Marcos place.

In the afternoon there is normally not a lot to do in Sevilla because it is just too hot and the streets are empty. The life starts again around five or six o'clock. Nevertheless in my first week at Sevilla I did a lot. As mentioned from Tuesday to Thursday morning I went to Spanish classes (I didn't make the class on Friday because of some events that occured during Thursday night). In the afternoon I slept, learnt some Spanish or did the events organised by the school.
On Tuesday evening I went to play football with Marco, which was really fun but left me with pain in legs and back for the next few days. On Wednesday evening I did a por/para Spanish workshop with the school and after that went for some drinks and tapas with a few people from school. There I met Devina, an english-indian girl and Andrea an italian guy with whom (I mean them both) I would spend a lot of time from that day on. On Thursday there was fiesta at school which started an unnecessarily long drinking tour through the city on which I got to know a lot of californians and a belgian girl from the same language-school. Because I arrived at my bed at around 6 o'clock in the morning it was nearly impossible to make classes on Friday, even though I optimistically set my alarm-clock.
Because I left some stuff at home on my Swiss trip I had now again space in my backpack and went shopping on Friday afternoon. In the evening Marco would take me to a Latin-Dancebar where I was deeply impressed and my life changed (a little). The next I started dancing classes (they are so ridiculously cheap here - I had about 13 lessons up to now and paid until 30. of june so I will have about 10 more lessans and it cost me 10€). So I went with Marco and Andrea to that danceclasses/dancefiesta on Saturday evening where I had my first hour of classes. The next day on Sunday I slept long and went with Marco, Devina and Andrea in the evening for another two hours of dance lessons. On Monday I had three hours of classes in the evening and when I got home around half past 11, Devina wrote me that they still were out, at that Flamenco-Place and that I should join them. I would have said no but because my birthday would be starting in half an hour I could not. So I arrived there at a quarter to 12 and bought two rounds of shots (chupitos en español) the bartender was extremely slow and luckily I got them shortly before midnight. So I told them about my birthday that was just starting and by uncovering that fact accompanied by some Tequila I obligated them to a long night. When the Flamenco-Place shut down we went for a nice rooftop-Bar close to the Cathedral. When the rooftopbar closed down we went to a nice bar by the river. When the nice bar a the river closed down we went with two sevillian guys we met at the nice riverside bar to another hidden sevillian bar where they were jamsessioning some flamenco-guitar-singing. It was quite a fun night (tank you guys - Jen, Ele, Devina, Reino and Andrea). Surprisingly I made classes on Tuesday morning but was an hour late. In the afternoon I had to sleep a lot because at seven my danceclasses started again and my birthday finished with four hours of dancing (I actually still suck badly and the girls don't really like to dance with me 😞). Wednsday, Thursday and Friday I went to school and on Thursday again to danceclasses for three hours and afterwards with Marco to a Salsafiesta where I danced my first not dancelesson dance and my last for a long time because I was so embaressingly bad and everybody else was so crazy good. On Friday evening I went out with a lot of different people and was at a Barbeque at the hostel where Devina works and we went to some bars afterwards. Then there started the warmest Weekend I have ever been to (and it is still lasting right now). You could not really leave the house before 21:00 o'clock and even then it was still 35°C or about 100°F :O. Nevertheless on Saturday around 7 I met up with Andrea and Devina to see the Gaypride-Parade in Sevilla and afterwards we had some drinks and tapas. Today in the evening I will now do another two hours of danceclasses (wish me luck).



P.S.: I orderd some shoes from Zalando to Sevilla which was surprisingly easy, I ate snails (the small ones that are all about in your garden when it is raining), I discovered that Instagram is really fun, and I fell asleep while I hat a Pizza in the oven, I used about 7500CHF in these first not even three months :O I think I have to start using less. Thats about everything. If you want like and share and do whatever there is to do in the internet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb