Tomares Day Two


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
July 9th 2013
Published: July 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post


Jeff, me, Steve, and Fatma
Again, the morning came too early leaving me with little sleep. Today we hurried and ate breakfast because it was our turn for the devotion. We had struggled with getting devotion together, so we decided to do separate things. We ended up coming across the same verse and wanting to use it. So for our devotion we read out loud the chapter of Hebrews 11, which all about by faith you can accomplish anything. After we shared our thoughts and prayed, we got on the bus (the big bus we were supposed to have), picked up our fellow Spaniards, and headed out to another day in Tomares. This time we switched up our groups, and I was hoping to end up with my new friend Meagan, but instead I was in a group with a guy from our group named Jeff and a guy from the Spain group named Steve. I had the most amazing time with them. Steve is from somewhere in northern Africa and can speak Arabic, French, Spanish, and English. He comes from a Muslim background with his family still being Muslim. Steve has a passion for God and wants to share him with others. He is a
pretty fearless guy and will go up to anyone and start talking with them. For the couple of hours that I got to spend with Jeff and Steve, I learned so much. Steve stopped every person he saw and talked to them and asked about the surveys. When people kept on walking by, Steve walked with them and kept talking until he was finished. Steve didn't just talk to people on the streets; he went inside stores and talked with the owners, and knocked on people's doors. He even went up to a couple that has just gotten inside their car and started to talk to them. The guy in the driver's seat claimed to not know Spanish, so Steve called me over to talk to him. The guy ended up being from America and married a Spanish woman. They spend their time in living in both places. I got to talk with him and he was very interested why someone from America would come and help people in Spain. He was Jewish and his wife was Catholic, but they both were not religious. When we asked what we could pray for them about, the guy got really stiff and

taking surveys
didn't want to talk to us much more. It is amazing how quickly people's demeanor can change when you bring up God. I forgot to mention the five questions of the survey. They are in Spanish, so these are my translations. What does the future look like, most people answered black. What does your personal future look like, most people answered blue. Where do you see yourself in five years, what would you like God to do for you in the next seven days, and something like what would you like me to pray for you about. Anyways, when we were finished, we let the guy go and headed back to meet up with the rest of the groups. Each group got to share, and it was really encouraging to hear everyone's experiences. Jackie and my new friend Meagan ended up being in a group together. When I was talking to them about their experiences, they told me about how they ran into the same old man that I told them about yesterday. Of course they thought I was being a little dramatic about how creepy he was, but they soon found out how true it was! He apparently remembered

Me, Jeff, and Fatma
my name and told them to say hello to me and give me kisses. Hopefully I won't see him again tonight. We got back on to the bus and headed to the mall to eat lunch again. We found out that we were trying to pay the bus company with a card but they wanted cash only so they didn't have to give the government any of it. So this was a problem for most of the day until the company finally agreed to take the credit card. Just more attacks that God was able to overcome. After we ate lunch and took our hour break, we headed back to Tomares to do our kids festival again. Before the kids came, Meagan painted my face. On one side, I had a sky theme with a moon and star, and on the other side I had an ocean theme with fish and coral. This time I got to help little kids make crowns. I ended up meeting a 7 year old girl who spoke Spanish, English, and Chinese. At the school she attends, they teach her all of those languages as well as teaching them about Jesus. I was absolutely amazed

Making crowns
by that little girl. The rest of the night went smoothly with everyone enjoying themselves. We all are bonding so well, I feel like we are all one family. Tomorrow we will be going to Dos Hermanas and doing pretty much the same thing. Until then, I must get some good sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



This is the old man


Me and Fatma


dancing salsa


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb