Seville #2


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
March 14th 2018
Published: March 14th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Rain rain go away ... to depressing for me to stay .

That is how I felt . Seville has had the equivalent of a years rain in the last 3 months..another example of climate change. After the previous day I sent a note to my trusty travel agent saying I had had it and would like to change my ticket for an earlier return . YEAH SUSAN !!!!! She was able to get me onto a flight on the 14th and i was pleased . As it happens i was able to takethe fast traIn to Madrid on the 13th and met BRENDA on the platform 10 minutes later as she arrived from Valencia.Great timing.And the sun was shining after raining all morning .

BUT I have gotten ahead of myself .

Seville day 2 started off sunny enough to head to the palace of Queen Isabella and Ferdinand . A huge place that had seen the likes of Christopher Columbas and the establishment of the Indies Trade Centre . The reception room is still used today as the upper floor of the palace is still used as the royal residence when the king is in town .For an additional cost one can even tour part of that area. It wasn't something I cared to do as the palace itself is huge . Additions had been made by following monarchs Peter and Carlo , each more lavish with tile , carved plaster , painted wood , magnificent ceilings , fountains and ponds.The goal seemed to be to make it as lavish as Alhambra and they may have succeeded. The setting certainly doesn't compare but the gardens are huge and very impressive .

I understand why people like the tiles . They finish off a wall very nicely , add colour and pattern but compared to the tile work in





Uzbekistan and even in Morocco they are crude . There is very little detail and they almost seem MASS produced . Again. The colour is nice but...

The sun came out so I continued to explore in the old Jewish quarter and in the bedroom. Interesting but I kept getting lost in those narrow little streets that twist and turn in no perceivable pattern . Other days I would have enjoyed it more so I returned to the hotel to pack .

I should mention the tapas bars . I had several good Meals sitting up at a bar . Red wine and sangria both go down well with Iberian pork dishes and cheeses. The food the last month has been good but heavy on oils and carbs neither of which i enjoy . I am looking forward to having a kitchen and eating vegetables And cafe while still in my pjs.

The train to Madrid was comfortable and it poured the whole way . It did clear in the pm and Brenda and I checked into our hotel and then walked to the Prada. Wow!,The collection is amazing. To see the paintings of Rubins , Goya and Bosch was breathtaking . We spent several hours and barely touched the surface. But that was as long as we had . A DRINK AT THE Palace Hotel Music Bar was definitely called for followed by a tapas be for supper .

A good day in Madrid . I would like to spend more time here and my do that in the future .

We were up at 7am today to get out to the airport ...and it poured 'll the way. Our flight was to leave at 11am and it is now 2pm and who k owe when we,'ll leave . They say it is mechanical problem and they have already booked us on a later flight to Regina as we missed our connection . Hopefully I,'ll get to sleep in my own bed tonight ...sometime after midnight .

Hope all is well with you and yours . See you soon

Advertisement



14th March 2018

OJ?
Did you drink freshly-squeezed orange juice?
15th March 2018

Home
Hope you are home in your own bed. What a contrast too much rain for you and too much heat for me. Yes Spain should have another chance, it is worth it. I am taking sun in Florida at my friend Hélène and Gerald. It is nice to see all this green. Today was an afternoon at the beach. Take care. Suzanne.

Tot: 0.377s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0812s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb