On the road again


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Córdoba
June 8th 2013
Published: June 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post


Roman Bridge
I woke up early today so i could get ready for my 9:15 train. I was finally able to take the train today, which makes me really happy. I love taking trains places because they are spacious and have bathrooms. So basically they are the complete opposite of buses. When the train approached, I took my things and got on board. I found my seat, sat down, and hoped that no one would sit next to me. To my luck, no one did. I spent the 4 hour ride to Sevilla reading The Lord of the Rings, and staring at the beautiful scenary. Around 1, the train arrived to the Sevilla station. I got my stuff and headed to the ticket office. There is no direct train or bus from Merida to Cordoba, so I had to go to Sevilla first and then get a ride to Cordoba. Once I found the ticket office, I asked to buy the next ticket to Cordoba. It ended up being in thirty minutes, so I quickly bought it and made my way to the gate. I anxiously waited for the train until it finally came a couple minutes behind schedule. I got on and

The Mosque
found my seat, luckily by myself again. I knew the ride would be very short, so I was prepared to get off at my stop. I listened for the destination and the next stop, but I heard an unknown destination. I was pretty sure that Cordoba was the destination, so I started to freak out thinking I was on the wrong train. The train conductor came by shortly after and looked at my ticket. She signed off on it and handed it back, silently confirming that I was on the right train. Time and time again, God has proved to me that he is with me every step of the way, yet I still get ancy. I have always wanted to fully trust in God without worrying, but I just didnt know how to do that. What I realized on the train was that having complete faith and trust in God isnt something that you can just have. The only way you can develop it, is by daily asking God to give you that trust and faith. I pondered this thought for a while, my face lighting up at the thought of my wonderful Savior. Before I knew it, I heard Cordoba as the next stop. I grabbed my things and waited for the train to stop. Once I got off, I headed towards the main exit. I took out my map pictures I had looked up when my phone still had wifi, and dechiphered which way to go. After walking for about a mile and a half, I found my hostal. I wasn't sure if it was the right place because it said youth learning center not hostal or accomadations. So I circled around for a bit seeing if there was another place further down until I decided to a least go in and ask. Well, it ended up being my hostal. So I checked in at the front, given my key, and then tried to find my room. After finding it, I walked in to find two beds and a bathroom. I was the only one there, so I set my things down and looked at my map. After looking at the map, I decided to just walk around for a bit and see what Cordoba was all about. I ended up finding the famous mosque of Cordoba; it happens to be on the next street. Of course

My hostal
I will wait until Monday morning at the early hour of 8:30 to go inside because it will be free. Across from the mosque is the roman bridge that leads across the river. There was a girl there who plays the violen beautifully and sells her cd's on the bridge. If she is there tomorrow, I will buy her cd. When I write, I can't listen to music with words. I need good instrumental music because the words defocus me, so her cd will be perfect. After my walk across the bridge, I decided to head back to the hostal so I could eat dinner. I didnt eat lunch since I had been on the train, so I was starving. The dinner ended up being a buffett of microwaved food, and was much to my disliking. It was food and I was hungry, meaning I couldnt really complain. After my dinner I went back to my room and met my roommate from Taiwan. She is traveling around Spain for three weeks. We talked for a little while about life, but it was hard to hear due to the fact that there was so much noise in the hall. I went to investigate and found a bunch of older Spanish people dancing and watching football. When I am their age, I hope to be so energetic at 10:30 at night. Welcome to the south, where the people never sleep, love their culture, are proud of their heritage, and talk in an accent. So for the rest of my trip, I will have to get used to the slurring of words, way too fast talking, and the southern accent of Spanish words. Just when I thought I had a chance of understanding and learning Spanish. But hey, Challenge Accepted.

Advertisement



10th June 2013

TRAINS.....
I SO LOVE TRAIN RIDES. MY MOST ADVENTURESOME RIDE WAS FROM PENSACOLA TO LOS ANGELES. THAT WAS A THREE DAY TRIP CELEBRATING MY HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATION. NOT AS WONDERFUL AS YOURS, OF COURSE. I HAVE BEEN RE-READING YOUR BLOGS FROM THEIR BIRTH. THE CLASSES AT THE BEGINNING WERE EXCITING BY YOUR DESCRIPTIVE MANNER OF WRITING. PLEASE KEEP THESE BLOGS. SOMEDAY, YOU COULD HAVE THEM PUBLISHED AND THEN SOME DAY IN THE FAR FUTURE YOU CAN SHARE THEM WITH YOUR SIX BOYS AND FOUR GIRLS AND THOSE YOU CHOOSE AFTERWARD. OF COURSE, THERE SHOULD BE A HUSBAND AND DADDY FIRST, UNLESS GOD WANTS YOU TO CHOOSE THEM ALL. AND I'LL BE THE NANNY WHILE YOU TRAVEL AND WRITE. SEE, I HAVE AN IMAGINATION TOR WRITING, ALSO. BE BLESSED PRETTY GIRL!!!
11th June 2013

I love you Mrs. Linda!
12th June 2013

BEYOND MY WILDEST DREAMS....
ALL THESE THINGS YOU ARE DOING ARE MERELY A FOND DREAM FOR MOST PRETTY GIRLS. BUT YOU'VE REACHED BEYOND YOUR DREAM AND CLUTCHED IT TO YOUR HEART! THANKS FOR SHARING THIS BEAUTIFUL WORLD WITH ME. I PRAY FOR YOUR SAFETY AGAINST THE PICKPOCKETS. I ALSO PRAY FOR YOUR HEALTH AND SAFETY. MUCH LOVE, PRETTY GIRL!!!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb