It's Hot Here in Slovenia


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Upper Carniola » Ljubljana
June 13th 2015
Published: June 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Whew! It was hot in Ljubjana when I got here on Friday and stayed that way until a cooling Sunday evening rain. Naturally, my room isn't air conditioned and the one feeble window manages to open only in the direction that does not allow a breeze to enter. But, not to be done in, I ventured out Saturday for a short trek around town and through Tivoli Park. Sunday, I took myself along the river walk - both sides. Every eatery and bar was manned by excited British soccer fans. Just as you can usually spot an American in Europe, you can't miss a Brit revving up for his favorite team.

That evening I finally met with my fellow travelers in Best of the Adriatic in 14 Days. All Americans save one Aussie and all seasoned travelers. One couple are embarking on their 11th Rick Steve's Tour! I'm a baby here. Not age-wise, but there is a wide range from late twenties to seventies. Nice people and I look forward to getting to know them. Sasha is our tour guide, a nice, young local fellow.

Today we had a guided walk around the town. I saw some new things and got explanations to places I'd been looking at for three days. Joze Plecnik was a favorite son of Ljubjiana who design skills helped rebuild and redesign the city that was nearly destroyed in a late 19th century earthquake.

I'm going to wrap this up because I'm waaay behind and I've got other entries to make. As for the photos I haven't explained: The Dragon Bridge - it seems people are putting locks on every bridge, everywhere these days, and the brass door of St Nicholas - can you see Pope John Paul II peeking out at the top?

More later

30


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb