Back with Ralph and Ria - Good Friends for over 40 Years!


Advertisement
Belgium's flag
Europe » Belgium » Liège Province » Raeren
June 6th 2015
Published: June 10th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I can't say 'back home' with Ralph and Ria because they moved clear across Belgium to the German border. For those people who asked me if I was going to Germany, "I'm sorry," I didn't think I would be passing through Germany, but I've been there three times already this week because we are so close to the border.

We've been so busy every day, I thought I sent this blog out four days ago. Last Friday we went to a craft fair nearby, Saturday to the three border region where Belgium, Holland and Germany meet. Sunday, Ria and I went to Aachen across the border into Germany to walk the town that claims Charlemagne. His image is everywhere, from the gold bust in the museum to the candy in the shops. The architecture is Roman, Byzantine, Baroque, Gothic - everyone who tramped through here put their stamp on the town. As with most cathedrals from this era, they made money by displaying bones, clothing and other relics of saints and former rulers. Some of these guys are spread all over Europe if you can believe the media of the time. Not long ago, Aachen celebrated the 1200 anniversary of Charlemagne's death. Who'd going to remember you that long?

Monday, we went to the Eifel region to a national park and took a boat ride up and down the beautiful lake. More on that later.

much love

30


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb