Little trail day, so we went for a walk!


Advertisement
Slovenia's flag
Europe » Slovenia » Slovenian Littoral » Tolmin
August 13th 2023
Published: August 13th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Tolmin, the only Slovenian town I can pronounce. At least I think I can. I will admit that I’m not practicing much. A tourist approached me today and asked if I spoke English! I answered ‘of course’ in my best European, she asked a few questions and I answered. I’m sure she thought my English was rather good.

Short walk today but still plenty of up and plenty of down. The track designer must share that Wainwright trait of not going where you expect to go. Starting destination and finishing destination are both at lake level, literally 24 m of vertical separation yet we do ten times that in elevation! You would think a scenic route around the lake and along the river. Well you would be very wrong. Up the hills, through the forest and down again. Some sense of humour!

Still some problems with the photos so I won’t even try. I’ll attempt to match photos with the text but we will see what happens.

Lovely walk today and unbelievably within half an hour a place that sold ice-cream! Could not find one yesterday for love or money and yet there’s one ‘mocking’ us because it was just too early. Almost at our destination we found another and paid more than $4 Aussie for a Calipo (the spelling looks wrong but most should know what I mean). Later we had gelato at a cafe for well less! Very close to our hotel too.

Then it’s a walk (20 minutes or so) to the shuttle bus that takes people to the gorge here at Tolmin. Having purchased tickets at the hotel gave us the advantage of skipping the time queues although I told the other tourists it was because I was Australian! That will set Penny Wong back a bit! Really I was speaking to the Swiss again who we saw at the entrance to the gorge and later in the gorge (they walk quicker than us). The gorge is rugged but not wild and despite ‘no swimming’ signs there were people having some sort of swim. Lots of steps up and down but again worth the effort. Time spent walking the gorge is almost 2 hours. So with our real walk, the 2 x 20 minutes and the gorge we probably walked a ‘normal’ day.

Hotel Drovec is comfy and friendly although it doesn’t matter how friendly they are the request for 2 large glasses filled with ice always evokes some surprise. It is not half board so will go look for something smallish, knowing we can finish with more gelato.

Not sure about tomorrow yet, I’ll do my homework after this.

Caio for now, I will do the photos on Facebook.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0848s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb