March 26 – Madeira


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Madeira » Funchal
March 26th 2023
Published: March 30th 2023
Edit Blog Post

March 26 – Madeira



It’s 7:30 am, the room is still dark the sun hasn’t begun to show itself. All I see is Kirsten’s smiling face, Good Morning sugar. We’re home, I look out our cabin sliding doors and it truly looks like I’m looking out our bedroom sliding doors overlooking Lake Howard.

We’re in Madeira, our first stop after crossing the Atlantic. It’s an island part of an archipelago islands belonging to Portugal off the coast of Africa.

We docked sometime early, Kirsten was up, dressed, ready for breakfast leaving out the door saying I’ll see you up on the Lido Deck. You better hurry, were getting off the ship on the first group.

I rollout of bed and hurry getting dressed. I arrive on the Lido deck Kirsten has already has my breakfast waiting for me on the table. Our attendant raises his eyebrow towards me insinuating.... why are you late Mr. Steve?

I barely finish breakfast and the ship’s captain comes on the speaker announcing the disembarking has begun. Kirsten kicks me under the table were late let’s go.

We scramble toward the elevators; Kirsten is pushing all the down buttons on all the elevators. I’ve lost sight of Kirsten as everyone is cramming into the elevator Kirsten’s nowhere to be seen, then out of the elevator comes an arm grabbing me by my sweater.

I’m pulled into the mass of people ass to ass with old British women. The elevator door closes then, something or someone grabs my ass; I turn expecting Kirsten and this little old lady smiles at me.

Kirsten has been planning today before we even left Winter Haven. Madeira is famous for its wine, go figure. Our founding fathers cracked open a case or two while writing and signing the Declaration of Independence. It’s a sipping wine, you know like Port wine.

So, this island is also famous for its botanical gardens at the top of the island. You can either walk, take a taxi, or ride the gondola up to the top. To get down, you have an additional choice of taking a sled ride down. You read that correctly, a sled ride. When the grapes were harvested in the old days, they would load the grapes into these sleds and bring them down the mountains. Decades later someone decided to ride down the mountain and thought I think I can sell tickets to do this. Thus began the sled rides from the mountain top, look it up on the internet, I’m not kidding.

Ok, back to our day, Kirsten, and I beeline to the gondola. When we get there we're reading the sign that says the sled ride is not open. So, we purchase round trip tickets on the gondolal.

After riding to the top of the mountain, we walk around the gardens and attend mass at the chapel. As we are leaving the chapel, we see the sleds are being brought out and people are getting in them and riding them down the mountain.

It looks pretty bazar, but people are getting in the sleds then two men push them off and they jump on the back of the sled to guide it down the mountain.

Kirsten looks at me and offers to do it if I want to. Well before I decide to slide down the mountain on a sled guided by a couple of fat guys in funny looking hats, I decide to take a break and have a cup of coffee and watch.

It turns out there are only 25 sleds being used, once they are gone you must wait until they bring them back up the mountain so the next group can slide down. The line was over 3 hours long waiting to slide down the mountain. Not even NO... but no #&%$ way I was waiting for 3 hours.

Kirsten and I rode to the old town in our private gondola enjoying the peace and quiet.

Once in the old town, we strolled through the alleys and shops. On this one alley, the shops and cafés had painted the front doors to attract guests. Some were quite interesting.

We came upon a fest, around a beautiful city garden park, we sat down and had our picnic lunch and enjoyed the local beer.

After lunch, we continue walking through the old town working our way back toward the cruise ship.

One item Kirsten and I have enjoyed while cruising, is returning to the ship and going to the top deck to be part of the sail away party.

Sometimes, you even get a bonus of someone running to the ship minutes before it pulls out. On this cruise we enjoyed that bonus, the ship horns were blowing, the ships announcement system was blaring “Would Carol Thomas Please report in”. Us along with hundreds of other passengers watch while Carol Thomas was running for the ship.

Everybody including us were having our sail away drinks, snacks and laughing. Poor Carol was running her legs off.

Note: The ship always waits.

I think they do this on purpose, giving everyone a fun time on the sail away. It works, what a great marketing idea!

Next stop.... Casablanca, the reason Kirsten chose this cruise.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



Tot: 0.256s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0751s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb