Day 4 - quiet day around Oslo


Advertisement
Norway's flag
Europe » Norway » Eastern Norway » Oslo
July 17th 2022
Published: July 17th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Today was another random exploration day - there’s a neighbourhood (Toyen) with a lot of street art, so I headed up there to explore.

There’s also another large sculpture park on the east side which I walked around a bit, but then the rain hit and I was in my Birks and didn’t want to muddy them up so I retreated to the tram and headed back into town. The little that I did see of Ekebergparken was pretty eclectic - it’s all different artists, so not like Vigeland. (Some were pretty kinky lol) Great view over Oslo too!

Anyway, by the time I was back into town, it was only spitting rain so I just kind of roamed around the relatively pedestrian area in the centre - Nationaltheater, Parliament, City Hall, etc that whole bit. Since it’s Sunday a lot of the stores and such were closed - I always forget that ahead of arrival. But it was nice to just sit on some benches and people watch - I’ve missed doing that these past few years!

I really still can’t get over how Covid is over here. I know I’m still one of the few mask holdouts back in Canada lol but it is truly a weird feeling being here. (I’m still masking on public transit, I just can’t… ew) In a weird way, slight blessing in disguise I got it at start of July I guess… at least I’m not worried about getting instantly reinfected here.

Tomorrow I’m off to figure out my car rental (oh god, chaos) and start the proper adventure! Can’t wait to see all the landscapes and their beauty 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb