A Cycle Down Memory Lane


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
July 15th 2013
Published: June 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Former Family Home in HooftwijkFormer Family Home in HooftwijkFormer Family Home in Hooftwijk

Spot where my dad and opa lived about 50 years ago
Geo: 51.8664, 4.66181

Beautiful warm sunshine, pretty scenery, good exercise and a nice tour of my Dutch roots and family history. It was also a return visit to some places I visited 7 years ago. Were home now, my rump thankful for the comforting soft of the couch after a full day, some 30 kilometres on the saddle of a bicycle. Our departure was a bit delayed after getting up late, mousses for breakfast and contacting home. I spoke to mum for the first time since leaving Australia, and likewise Natalie her parents on Skype.
We climbed aboard the bikes around noon, mine equipped with a beautiful pink luggage basket. The good thing about Holland, is its flat, making bike riding much easier! First stop off was Hooftwijk. Here on this street is where Opa and my dad lived before coming to Australia. The houses are different now, but the street and area looks much the same. Back on the bikes then, over the bridge, into Alblassedam. Next stop the house where my oma lived. This home, whilst slightly renovated is still the same building my grandmother lived in many years ago. Not far down the road to the church, and cemetery. Here, a double grave and monument to my omas parents and grandparents from the van Opijnen and Pols family. That is my great, and great great grandparents.
Now, not far to the Kinderdijk; Beautiful Dutch countryside decorated with 19 Windmills. We rode along here from a while, enjoying the scenery and making a few stops for photos. We also enjoyed a walk through one of the mills, and a video about the history of the Kinderdijk. On the way back, another family stop. Seven years ago I visited my omas sister Betts, so I figured it was time for another visit. She remembered me. We spent a while here, and made the return cycle home.
Cous Cous for dinner, some delicious dessert and a beer and I'm set for the evening. Luck was on my side today with wins in Wippen and Sjoelen.
On a side note, Ive been researching my family identity, the mission being to identify my opas biological family. Ive a good set of information which my be the answer. At some point I hope to get more information from the Town Hall in Rotterdam. In the mean time I have been looking at some great family photos to supplement todays historical family tour.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Omas HouseOmas House
Omas House

The house where Oma used to live in Alblassedam
Family GraveFamily Grave
Family Grave

My great grandparents and great great grandparents van opijnen
Marielle Kris and JanMarielle Kris and Jan
Marielle Kris and Jan

Marielles Oma and my Oma are sisters.
Me and BettsMe and Betts
Me and Betts

My Omas sister


17th July 2013

I was born in the front room of my Oma house in the picture you took

Tot: 0.4s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb