Back home again after 31 days travelling


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands
August 7th 2010
Published: August 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Pictures attached. To see the smaller pictures a bit better click on full entry.

Back home again and thinking already a bit to pick up my trail in Belgrade and continuing my trip in spring 2011.
Actually the real fun of travelling is the journey and not the destination.

A good thing was not to hear anything during this 31 days about dutch politics.
Finding out back home that Kingmaker Rutte is making kind of King of Mr Wilders, our Nr 1 racist in the Netherlands and leader of the party with probably the most Christian voters at the moment. Mr Wilders will be probably in power , next to the Government he can dictate, around first week of September.

I still think back to all people I met, mostly good to talk with even sometimes with hand and feet because we did not speak a common language and most of them were very helpfull.

And I think back specially to:
- The sleeping stationmaster in Olbia, actually a wise man when there are so few trains a day the best thing to do is probably sleeping.

-The taxi driver in Ajaccio who showed me the whole city before I found out that the hotel was around the corner.

-The waiter in Trieste in a restaurant without written menu who thought when there is no written menu you can ask anything in the end.And he did.Later he gave me a discount of almost 40% what brought the price to more or less reasonable. But he stayed away so long with my creditcard that I called Visa to freeze the card for Italy for the meantime.

- The student from Rome , living in Messina, who let his father bring me to the hotel. Father and son were big supporters of the Netherlands and the first visit in Amsterdam in this family had been made by his great, great, great grandfather in 1819. They still knew if it had been yesterday.

-The french waiter in the restaurant of the ferry Corsica-Bastia who did not know the word"knife"and only brought me a clean knife when I had been finished already with peeling my fruit with my pocketknife.

-The taxi driver in Napoli who told me to walk the last 500 metre through the traffic and the 38 degrees because it was too crowded for his taxi and he did not like it.

-The internet cafe owner near Napoli station of the completely Arab cafe who made free one of his computers to give me the possibility to check my mail. I had no idea where the other 20 guys were talking about but it sounded lively.

- The Canadian-Italian or the Italian -Canadian in the train from Catania to Bologna who tried to get out of the train the moment we had a delay again.He did not sleep much for the delay during the night builded up to more than 4 hours.

This is the last entry of this journey and I ll be back next spring with the continuation of the trip or earlier if there are new trips. There are still more in the planning

Advertisement



9th August 2010

Genoten
Hai Bert, Heb genoten van al je wederwaardigheden, Met een mooie afsluiting van een aantal interessante personene die je al, dan niet wakend, ontmoette. Hoopdat het thuis in goede bannen komt . Hartelijke groet ook aan Ditas, Cees

Tot: 0.358s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.096s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb