And the days go by, la la la


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Overijssel » Enschede
November 7th 2006
Published: November 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

SesamstraatSesamstraatSesamstraat

Pino the bird, Tommie the dog, Purk the pig, and Ieniemenie the mouse. These are my vrienden (friends) hehe
To start this blog off, I want to thank those that requested me to write more. As this is my first blog, I am new to the experiences that having a blog bring - I find some of the times, I'd rather just talk outloud and the blog will write itself, while other times I want to sit for hours and write a novel about one experience.

Since I came here I've never had so many thoughts going around in my head at one time. I thought my brain was busy back in Seattle, but now it's working 24/7 even when I sleep. Last night I had a vivid dream where I went bungee jumping from a bridge over a raging river...and something to do with cats, but I forget. I find myself reading my book at night but at the same time having two or more thoughts going on at the same time while I'm keeping up with the book's story. I think all the time as I ride my bike, but not normal thoughts like "hm..my ears feel like they froze and fell off my head a couple meters back," but thoughts where I think them as if I were writing a novel like "As each pedal came full circle, her legs started to warm up. The fenders rattled as the bike passed over uneven pavement and continued on its steady pace. I should have worn a hat, she thought to herself as the deep-freeze wind whipped down the bike path and swirled around her head."

I found myself thinking like that tonight as I made my way to the campus around 6:15pm to meet my classmate, have dinner, and talk about the paper we have to write together. Winter is definitely here and the nights are a cold I am not yet used to. I got a really good vibe the first time I met Andra in my multicultural class (the one being lectured in Dutch). She was the one that first volunteered to help me out and answer any of my questions. Tonight, she cooked a noodle and vegetable stir fry along with a baked fish dish. It was really good and afterwards, we went into her room and intended to start some paper discussions. Being girls, our natural ability to chit chat was exercised this night - we talked nothing about our paper for about 3 hours! In the end, we discussed the paper for about 30 minutes and continued on our other conversation about life, etc etc.

She was born in Romania, but moved to northern Nederlands when she was 4 years old. So she considers herself Dutch, but shares both cultures as well. She has many of my interests and also worries about a future career. Maybe I'll save that one for another time. Needless to say, we got to know eachother after 5 hours of socializing. What can I say, I'm a natural gabber.


In Other News...




Till next time, love to all

Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0774s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb