Mirjam and I


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Gelderland » Arnhem
November 5th 2008
Published: November 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Mirjam and IMirjam and IMirjam and I

Mirjam (Right) and Myself (Left) sitting at a bench in one of Arnhem's parks.
By now, I am sure everyone is curious on how things are going between myself and Mirjam (Pronounced as Miryam), the dutch woman I met online and started dating over a year ago.

As my flight began to land in Dusseldorf, my anxiety reached a peak. I knew that the moment I got my luggage and left the terminal, I would finally meet her. When I stepped through the double doors leading off the terminal and saw her, an unexplainable calm flooded through my body. To cut a long and seemingly endless embrace and a following train ride to Arnhem short, we immediately clicked, despite the fact we only now just met for the first time.

It has been a week this very day since I first met her, and I can say to all of you waiting for me back home in the states. That I absolutely do NOT want to leave here, I don't want to part with her ever again. My relationship with her has become very serious and very real. Now I only hope that all of you reading this at home have dropped your doubts about Mirjam and I, if you have not already.

There was also another goal, a more private and personal goal of mine to come to Europe and see where my relationship with Mirjam will go. This goal was to simply grow up, mature more, begin my life as an adult. I could not think of a better place to do this than with Mirjam. It is for this reason I asked Mirjam to only take two weeks off from work and not the entire month; one week after I arrive, and one before I leave. It has been a week now, and my 3rd day on my own while Mirjam goes to work. I have developed a routine of getting up in the morning, cleaning myself and tidying up the house, then heading off to the city center to walk, sight see, shop, and have lunch with Mirjam at the mall on her break.

All in all, I have grown quite comfortable here. I love Arnhem and the prospect of living here with Mirjam someday is very very inviting. The dutch way of life is very attractive to me and I am more sure than ever to work towards citizenship. Of course that will be a few years, I have reluctantly accepted the fact that I have to return to the states on the 24th as planned.

Advertisement



5th November 2008

I am very happy for you. I hope you continue to see and enjoy all that Europe has to offer. I am glad that your personal relationship is working out well. Keep us posted - I truly enjoy reading about your trip.
5th November 2008

Thanks for keeping in touch Jonathan. I am sharing your news with the students and they enjoy hearing about your trip. Keep enjoying every day and don't waste a minute.
6th November 2008

awww
Oh i love the picture ^_^ hehe you both look so cute together, but anyway i love the entry keep writing and keep calling.....and hey if you do move there i promise to come and visit even if im married ill bring the hubby ^_^
7th November 2008

Hi Jon
Jon, I am glad your trip is going so well! I have thought of you often and truly hope this trip is everything you expected. I will anxiously look forward to further updates from you. Best wishes, Jim Rummer
7th November 2008

Great to hear that another long-distance/online relationships has worked out.A few years later I will also fly to Holland to meet with my love.I am planning it...step by step until I meet him and take the relationship further
11th November 2008

Adventure!
Be well and safe young Skywalker!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb