St. Eusebius Church


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » Gelderland » Arnhem
November 7th 2008
Published: November 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Church Tower pt 1 307 secs
2: Church Tower pt 2 49 secs

St. Eusebius Church



Hey everyone! Just yesterday I wrapped up my visit to St. Eusebius Church quite nicely. I have taken many pictures of it since I arrived in Arnhem and yesterday I also took a short video of myself in the very top of the tower.

St. Eusebius Church is the largest church and building in Arnhem, standing at 93 meters tall. It is also the most "tourist friendly"church anyone is likely to visit. One reason is it's glass elevator lift that travels up the center of the tower to the very top, allowing viewers an excellent view of it's vast collection of bells along the way. It is indeed the only Church in the world with such a convenient lift.

The church itself still holds sunday services in the main hall. Mirjam tells me that this is a modest church in comparison to Notre Dame, but one could hardly consider the church modest after seeing the high arching ceiling of the main hall, held up by tall pillars of marble and stone. The original pipe organ is still in good and working order and I am told is still used during special occasions.

Another interesting feature about the church is that the tourists also have access to the massive crypt below, where centuries old burials and tombs lie, including open skeletons. Due to a few circumstances I was not able to get any photos of the crypt.

Also you will find in my video of the upper tower, a brief glimpse of me in my new european getup, quite fashionable there.

That's all for now, enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



8th November 2008

You Need....
Jon! You look GREAT in that new coat!! I LOVE IT!! You need a scarf though! Not something frilly...but a guy scarf! I'll buy you one for Christmas =D Miss you, looks like you are having a great time!! Beautiful church by the way <3
10th November 2008

St. Eusebius Church
Hey Jon you look great and I think you are having the time of your life. I hope this gives you some insight into life after high school. We are proud of you for taking the leap into travel by yourself which is a pretty scary thought! Keep sending the pictures and messages from the Netherlands, we are really enjoying them. Love Grandma and Grandpa
10th November 2008

Phenomenal Pictures
Jon, I very much enjoyed your pictures and commentary in the video. I look forward to catching up with you when you return. When exactly do you return? You need to make sure to stop by my office so we can grab a bite to eat and catch up. Jim Rummer
11th November 2008

How cool!
Your blog has given me the sense of being on vacation in Europe too! You have a talent of not just conveying pictures but the very atmosphere and culture--only the native american culture is that old in Michigan. It was great to talk to you the other day--you were an inspiration to the guys in my group that morning! You gave us much to discuss after the call ended. GBY, Mrs. Mills
11th November 2008

Thanks
Hi Jon, We really look forward to your updates. Great photos, we haven't been able to view the videos yet but we will keep trying. Adam says hello to the toothpick. Jeremy wants exotic food. Dalton would like a German bible. You're about due for another update so keep them coming. Take Care and Be Safe, Mrs. Melvin
16th November 2008

Nice to actually hear your voice on the video. What an amazing church - and the views of the city are exceptional. You look quite European. Thanks for sharing.

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb