Malta, Gozo & Comino - July 2012


Advertisement
Malta's flag
Europe » Malta » Gozo
July 15th 2012
Published: July 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday we spent more time just relaxing, swimming, eating and at the waterpark.

Today has been quite different and wow its been hot, 42 degrees apparently! We caught a boat first thing over to a small island called Comino, where we spent a little while swimming in an area of the sea called the 'blue lagoon'. It was beautiful, clear blue water where I saw lots of little fish swimming. Unfortunately I also saw hundreds of other tourists and their boats in this small patch of water and on the rock face next to it :-( apparently there is a small beach, but I couldn't see this with all the deck chairs! Anyway, I loved the swimming and I got to watch mummy and daddy jump off the boat into the sea. It looked really fun but they wouldn't let me have a turn.

Back on the boat and we took a quick trip over to Gozo, Maltas sister island. We only had 3 hrs here do we took a minibus tour. I got to sit in the front with mummy next to the driver - he let me beep the horn :-) First off we headed to the Azure Window. This is a cliff at Dwejra Bay that has been eroded into the shape of a window framing the sea. It's a really nice area. Then we stopped at Ta' Pinu Bascilla where mummy had to wear a funny curtain to cover her knees and shoulders, then we headed to the capital Victoria. On the way we passed through lots of traditional Gozo villages that hadn't been overrun by tourists and had kept some charm. In Victoria we went to a big cathedral and a couple of churches, I also saw part of a festival, or feast. Seemed like the whole city were outside one church celebrating, drinking and having a water fight - so much was going on I didn't know where to look!

Back on the boat I got to see lots of caves, tuna fish farms and a lagoon where some of a Bond film and Troy was shot. My movie watching doesn't get passed cars, in the night garden or happy feet but the Boat captain seemed to think this was a big deal. We even passed a rock that looked like an elephants head :-) I really enjoyed today, especially the splashing in the sea.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.323s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb