Tuesday


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
September 27th 2016
Published: September 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 44.4944, 11.3492

Hello,
TravelPod has emailed and said that the problem was all theirs and that people should now be able to post comments. Please comment, it's so nice to hear from anyone that is reading this!

Today, went to school, again a bit of a brain bender, I sure hope this is helping the little gray cells stay healthy.... Stayed for the extra hour of class, which was grammar, good class, and all the seats were filled.

Made plans with J___ and A____ along with another student, Y____ the Japanese gal that is married to an Italian, to go to a good trattoria tomorrow after class for lunch. I want to try some authentic Bolognese spaghetti, it's actually not called that, that is what we call it... When you order, you order spaghetti a Ragu (meat sauce) otherwise as the teacher said, they are rubbing their hands together happy that they have una touristica!! They are also known for good lasagna, and I think invented tortellini here. After lunch, there is an organized tour of a very good art museum that I'll be going on with the school.

Was planning on riding the bus back to the apartment this afternoon but decided to get some steps in so started walking back. Along the way popped into a very famous church that I had mentioned and posted some photos of before. Learned a bit more about it and this time toured the entire thing, it's called the Basilica of Santo Stefano, the street is named after it and is the same one the school is on. It's a real warren of different churches built next to each other from different centuries, nothing cohesive about it. I've taken photos of diagrams of it, it's pretty interesting, it was originally a cult of Isis built over a spring. Then in the 300's a church was built there, and it went on from there as different people came through (Lombards, different orders, etc...) they all added to it and put their own stamp on things. There is a section of remembrance that has the soldiers from WW2 and where they fought engraved along with a statue memorial to them. The monks have a little store in here where they sell items they've made, books, etc... I bought a bar of ciocolatto fondente 53% e peperoncino, had to grab it as Jim and I enjoyed our gelato like that so much in Milan, will save it to share with him when I get back.

After this, I meandered to the Sala Biblioteque, heard it was interesting. I'm glad I went in, in the basement, they have an archeological area that was cool to see, photos below.

Got back to the apartment, ate a big salad and a lot of potato chips (haven't had them except for once I think in over a year.... ). Went back out to get up to 10,000 steps and stopped in a Gelateria that makes homemade gelato! And they had the ciocolatto with peperoncino! So got a small with that flavor along with ciccolato fondente (super dark chocolate) it was very good! Will probably make another trip before I leave ;-). Really, who would think that red chili peppers would be good in chocolate?

After all of this food I've been eating, I will have to really hit the gym hard and take myself in hand as regards to my food choices when I get home.... Have no idea how much weight I've gained but it's probably a "healthy" amount.

Got my 10,000 steps in and hit the grocery store for eggs to last me through my last breakfast here, some water, buffalo mozzarella, and some tomatoes. "Home" again, did my homework, spent a lot of time trying to upload my photos as this is saying I'm out of space even after I deleted almost all of my other photos, so will look into this a bit more... Technology!!!!!

Doing some work here also, nice to be able to take care of things from a distance, will be very busy when I get home getting caught up, but that's o.k. as I enjoy my job 99.999% of the time ;-)

Looking forward to going home but have enjoyed my time here and think the school is very good and can recommend their program, the teachers are challenging but helpful.

Hope to hear from some of you, a domani!
Wendy

Steps:10,967
Mies: 4.72
Floors: 10



Additional photos below
Photos: 50, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



29th September 2016

Me again, actually maybe the date is off on this one, but you will figure it out. Travelpod is nice when it's not a pain. Very interesting pictures of the architecture (I can handle some... )Love, Kath
29th September 2016

What an adventure you are having! Take care! You're soooooo far away! But the Lord is with us wherever we go. Still, it will be nice to have you back here safe and sound.
29th September 2016

This reminds me of the one we visited in Rome. It fascinates me that there is sooo much history hidden beneath the current modern city. What will it be like in another 500 years? Will the streets we walked on be lost and rediscovered as wel
l?

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb