Venezia, you own my heart!!!!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy
June 24th 2010
Published: June 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This is Gabi, again...Hannah is asleep.
We are just finishing up our first day in Venice, which is strange because back in Seattle it is only a little after 9 in the morning. Our journey over here wasn't too bad, aside from our mad rush through the airport in Rome. We got there and our ticket had the wrong gate number printed on it and we had to go through security, but there was only one security station open and about one hundred people all pushing to get through it. But we made our flight with five minutes to spare!
Anyway, everything has been a lot easier than I expected. We managed to get out of the Venetian airport, buy our vaparetto tickets into venice and walk from the Rialto bridge to our hostel while only getting slightly lost!
This morning we got up and walked around until about one, then we went and got our train reservations and tickets for Sunday. We also managed to find me gluten-free food!!! The first pharmacy we stopped in only had cookies...which I didn't turn down. But then we found another one that had bread and crackers and pasta! Anyway, that has been my personal little victory.
There really aren't words to describe Venice. It is beautiful in the way that only it can be. We got in in the late afternoon and both Hannah and I agreed, as we floated down the grand canal, that none of it looked real. One of the things about Venice is that it is when it shouldn't be, I mean it's built on a sand marsh for goodness' sake! Hannah and I walked around until we found ourselves in what seemed to be the more residential area. Every cliche about venice was present here and breath-takingly beautiful. We swalked down the narrow little streets and stepped out of the way of little grandmothers with their little dogs. We passed over little bridges, while gondoliers floated under and called out to each other. I felt like the opening credits of a romance film were being played out all around us.
I am about to take a nap, but I have to share one last thing with you...as I look out the window of our hostel and down onto the pretty canal one story below, I can hear a man singing opera...I think every Italian cliche just came true...and I LOVE it!!!
Until next time...although next time it will be Hannah writing, because I am going to make her 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.228s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb