Verona


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Verona
September 3rd 2010
Published: September 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

ArenaArenaArena

built in the 1st Century AD
I left Venice and caught the 7:09 train to Verona, as I planned to visit here and Bologna and go to Florence all in one day in order to make best use of my interrail pass, which I found to be achievable, happily. Encountered my first Italian lech on the train - a guy who shamelessly stared at me the whole journey despite me asking him what he was staring at and looking angry. I know it's best to be ignorant but I can't help it grrrr.

Bought my 10 euro Verona Card on arrival and got the bus into town, where my first stop was the Roman Arena which is beautifully preserved. I then walked to Juliet's house and visited that and went on her balcony etc. Unfortunately didn't add to the love graffiti on the wall as I was by myself and was too scared although I wanted to write 'I love Dan'. These romantic cities are really making me miss him! I then went to the Campanile (bell tower) to take in the views of fair Verona. Saw the beautiful castle in the distance which is where Amy and Bean who I met in Florence camped! I
Juliet's bedJuliet's bedJuliet's bed

the actual one used in the film
bought a large slice of pizza in Piazza Delle Erbe, which I struggled to eat as it's so filling and big but I did it! It really is a magical city and it's a shame I didn't have longer there. Onwards I went to my next destination: Bologna


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.1164s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb