Venezia.....


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
June 8th 2007
Published: September 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 41.8805, 12.1116

Hello all,
I just figured out how to read your comments! Thanks, it was fun to hear from all of you! I have been telling my parents how much I wish all of my history kids could be here with me. I have lots of pictures for our History of the Middle Ages next year 😊...
Yesterday, I took the Secret Itineraries Tour of the Doges Palace, fascinating history of the government of Venice, very elaborate and lots of checks and balances. They even got rid of the torture chambers before the rest of Europe, very enlightened of them!! Actually spent 5 hours touring it, the feet were dying by the end of the 50 millionth stairway and when you are walking on marble and cement, I don t care how good your shoes are, your feet are going to hurt 😞..

In our wanderings yesterday found a great B&B for next time (?Jim?) and a great little restaurant tucked on a back street (alley) that looked great, will be going there tomorrow.

To tell you the truth I can't remember everything we did yesterday so will tell about today. Mom and I found the Frari Church, great Art.... Titian is buried there and has several of his pieces there... Lots of dead Jesus s around in the churches, wish everyone realized that He is alive..... took the water bus to the San Marco square and toured St. Marks Basilica... wow, gold all over the place. Saw the horses and took pics from the "roof". Walked to the Rialto bridge shopped and bought a few things, mom and dad got on a water bus back and I found my way to the Q. S. museum with the painting by Bella of the Nicoletti's fighting on the bridge, they didn't have a postcard or poster of it. Would have liked to buy it, wonder if we are related as my grandmothers' name was Nicoletti. We did find out that in Rome there was a Nicoletti that was an architect that designed part of the Pamphij Palace ??? interesting anyway, they said the name was not common to Rome.

So I'm just doing a little wandering finding my way back to St. Marks square or a water bus and will catch up with mom and dad. Saw this internet cafe and wanted to catch up with you. Am really MISSING MY FAMILY!!!

Saw a square where people must really live, away from the tourists and the kids were riding their bikes and playing soccer on the tiled squares no big backyards here for the kids. They just have to play where everyone is.. I've enjoyed looking outside the place we're staying at must be a school, as I here the kids and can look out the window at them in pe class.

Will try to do a better blog later, when I can remember what I've actually been doing! My brain is on overload right now! 😊

Wendy

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb