Milano/Venezia


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
July 29th 2011
Published: August 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I finally have a computer, Well all this happened over a week ago now so the details aren't very clear.
The train journey to Milan was so amazing we went through the Alps then past the Italian lakes, everytime I tried to get a picture a tree would get in the way! It took ages to get to the hostel as Italians don't really prioritise fast customer service, Our hostel in Milan was odd it felt more like a room in an Indians man's house. For dinner we had pizza in the pizza place downstairs, it was just as good as any Bottelino's pizza. Afterwards I had a lemon granita which is lemon juice, ice and sugar all crushed up, I love having these when I go to Sicily. The next day we went to the World's biggest gothic cathedral, we didn't really look at it as we were swarmed by men selling us things. One man put seeds in my hand and pigeons flew at me, then he asked for money. Others had 'free' bracelets but then asked for a donation. We have now got to grips with just saying no and waliking on. My family will be pleased to know that we then sat in a park as it was so hot, it was in the grounds of a castle though so it was pretty. We had take away pizza again that night. I really liked Milan and would probably go back.

The place I had been most excited about was next, and it didn't disappoint. We did so much in just 48 hours. When we got there we walked down to St Mark's square and booked a walking tour which also included a Gondola ride. That boat trip was the scariest of my life, they have to be on an angle in order to go through the water properly, I was too scared about drowning that I didn't really appriciate the Grand Canal. Our hostel was definatley an experience, I found 2 bed bugs! Also people could see me sleeping from the main lounge area, it was in a 16th century palace though so it still had chandaliers. That night we made friends as it was quite a social hotel, we played cards with Aussies, Americans, Brazilians and people from Hong Kong then went out to the square, as the Americans wanted to climb statues. Ally and I have definatley noticed that the only other nationality that gets Bristish sense of humour is the Australians. The next day we went up the tower in St Mark's and took a boat to the cemetry. This may seem weird but it is an island which just consists of a cemetry and it's really pretty. Then we stayed on the boat and went around Venice. In the evening we went out with people from the hostel to some bars, we chatted to some Australians, whose favourite TV programme was The Inbetweeners! We saw The Rialto brigde and Grand canal at night. I can't wait to go back to Venice, I spent way too much money on presents but everything there is just so nice. Also it's not as expensive as most people think. Amsterdam was more expensive, I think everyone should go to Venice at least once.
I don't know when I will have a computer to do Rome and Rimini but I will try and do them asap. I'm in Barcelona at the moment. I will put on pictures when I'm back, sorry to keep you all waiting.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb