Kayaking and More Kayaking


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
May 31st 2009
Published: May 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Friday we went Sea Kayaking to see fungi, but the beautiful day had too high winds and flipped 6 of the 12 people out so we didnt make it to fungi. Look for those pics in a dideo later in the week.

Hello from Italy! Traveled from 4am to 11:45 pm to get to to Venice! It was surely a long day, bus totally worth it. I got up this morning around 5:45, and after eating went to the bus stop some 200m from the hotel(near the airport) where I was told a bus would be coming that would go to the heart of the city. Thankfully some paddlers got on the bus a few stops afer me so I jusst followed them into the city. For those of you who have been to Venice, you know how confusing it is to get around, well I ended up making it on foot from PLE Roma to San Marco to the start of the Vogalonga, just in time.

Vogalonga is an annual event of some 5000 paddlers of all sorts of boats: from kayaks, to gondolas, to crew boats, to dragon boats, to ou name it. Its a 30k through the canals and out into the bay/ocean. It was a blast!

The look on peoples faces when they saw me take my kayak out of the back pack, inflate it, and then hop on the water was absolutely priceless! I think I win the prize for the most portable boat.

I didn't finish, the water was just too rough when it opened up into the bay. But I probably paddled a good 8-9K, and for an inflatable I was moving pretty good.

Afterwards, I deflated my boat, stuffed it back into my bag and vagabounded the streets of Venice in search of Pizza and Gelato. Good food, Good Paddling, what's not to like? Venice was a little too crowded for me, there were people everywhere, especially at San Marco.

I leave early for Belgium tomorrow, and start work tuesday.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



31st May 2009

Venice
Sarah, We went to Venice also... Debbie was so confused she thought we could drive to Venice...long story...but that started Debbie Tours...yes she can plan some vacations. Hey, enjoy. Ernie
1st June 2009

Chow!
Sounds like another amazing adventure. The water looks pretty choppy from your pictures. We visited Venice when we lived in Germany. I can't imagine what it must have been like trying to paddle your way through the canals - along with other 5,000 boats. Glad to hear you had time to explore the city. I loved the city and its culture. Stay safe on your trip to Belgium - and best of luck on your first day of work!
1st June 2009

Inflatable Kayak
Sarah, I have an inflatable kayak too...it is difficult to steer, and I am impressed you went 9 km with 5000 other paddlers. It sounds like such a great adventure. I am living vicariously! D
1st June 2009

Awesome!
hahaha let the others look...good for you with the blowup kayak lol and 8 or 9k is freaking rediculous sorry you didn't get to finish but interesting choice on banana gelato lol. Safe traveling!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0739s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb