And so work begins...


Advertisement
Published: June 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Work:

Just finished my first week of work. I have a wonderful summer job(in my humble opinion). I am working at the von Karman Institute for Fluid Dynamics. As a stagiaire short-term student, I am assigned to a particular project. My project involves the use of the plasmatron wind tunnel facility, a subsonic tunnel extrapolated to hypersonic flows. In short, we research the re-entry of a space vehicle into the atmosphere, in order to design better Thermal Protection Systems. The specific vehicle that I will be focusing on is the ESA EXPERT. I’ve been very busy acquainting myself with the background of hypersonics, gas dynamics, and what not. I’ve certainly learned a lot, even in just the first week.
It’s great going to work everyday and being surrounded by such diversity. In the stagiaire office we have students from Italy, France, Germany, Madagascar, and U.S.(me). There are only 2 of us from the U.S., me and a student doing his PhD here. Its very intimidating to try and speak French among all of the French speaking people here, especially because I am out of practice. I am very lucky to speak English, though, as it is the common language between all of the students and faculty(though most people speak French as well).

Living:
My house is literally 4 minutes from the Institute. Its very nice to be able to walk so quickly. Everything is harder in terms of simple everday things. Taking a bus to the grocery store, Laundromat, getting to the city, train station, etc. My landlords are very nice, and I am living with 3 other students(Sarah from Italy and 2 guys from Czech). My house is right next to this huge forest, full of good trails for running! It’s beautiful, though extremely easy to get lost in.

Food:
The chocolate here is very good! As well as other sweets. I haven’t really eaten out yet, but we did go to a pub/bar/etc that had over 2004 beers in stock. It was quite impressive, even though I don’t like beer.

Weather:
Its way colder here than U.S. Yesterday it was in the 50s…. Next week will hopefully be in the 60s. I miss USA weather, that’s for sure. But its not too cold, just I prefer really warm weather.

Travel Plans:
This Weekend: Saturday in the City(Brussels) and Sunday to Brugge or Ghent or Lillie hopefully.
Next Weekend: London for International Music Festival/Drummer Live, and to meet Evan, and hopefully his cousin! I’m so excited to see him!

Advertisement



6th June 2009

Cold Weather
Sarah, it is hard to believe you have been at work a week already. It sounds so interesting. I'm very impressed with what your doing. I hope the weather gets warmer soon. It will be about 30 days until I fly to Belgium. I'm looking forward to spending the week with you. Stay warm, keep smiling and eat good chocolate! Always be watchful of your surroundings and take good care of yourself. We love you, Mom and Dad
10th June 2009

chocolate!!
YES! I'm so glad you got to try to chocolate...I'm jealous!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb