Venice day 4: A cheap hotel, some fantastic food, cat whores and coffee with bonus euros!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
November 27th 2017
Published: November 27th 2017
Edit Blog Post

So the alarm went off at 6am, both alarms actually and we both switched them off. We cuddled up together as we normally do but I don't think Claire had done much waking up. My head was hurting and I was kind of hoping Claire would stay asleep as I was feeling pretty groggy. And she did! Apparently we rolled apart at about 6:50 which woke her up but then the next thing I knew it was 9:09 and we had to check out at 10. We'll have to come back to do the slow shutter photography I guess....not a hardship though as Venice really is an amazing place. It is one place that everyone should visit ar least once in their life I reckon. This time has made up for being robbed the last time I came and I definitely want to come back. Round every corner is something interesting, getting lost finds even more wonder and everything about it is just fantastic. Unless you're disabled of course, it can't be much fun if you have trouble walking and especially if you're in a wheelchair. When I originally booked our room through booking.com the accommodation was supposed to take 10% of the price but they took 100% one day and then another 100% the next day. They didn't reply to emails and booking.com took ages to sort it out but after a few weeks I got 190% of my money back. It was highly stressful and I was still worrying about what they would charge me today so I'd printed lots of things out in preparation for an argument. When we'd got here I paid the €15 city tax and I had previously paid about £27. The total cost exclusive of city tax was €121 so I was expecting to pay just under €100.... So can you guess what he charged me? After months of worrying that there wouldn't be a room for us and that we would be doing some falling out over what I owed?Yes, left to pay was....nothing.... We literally ran out of there! I don't know if he'd got his calculations wrong or if it was an apology for all the hassle and not answering my emails but we had a room in the centre of Venice for £14 a night including city tax. Result!They may come for the balance later but I had some euros to spend today and we had a bit of time to do it. I have bought a fantastic mask which was on offer at just €20 and bought a present for someone who will be reading this so I can't say more.... I've also had some amazing sandwiches Venetian style, some coffee of course and Claire has had the best tiramisu she's had all weekend. And we still have some money towards our next European trip! Does it make up for all the stress and hassle? Yes absolutely. Fine by me but I would have taken the other option a few months ago when I was trying to book I reckon. It wasn't exactly a Qatar airways balls up but then they paid us a lot more compensation (but not enough) after their awful treatment of us. Claire saw two cats in shop windows today. Not something I'd usually deem worth mentioning apart from her comment 'It's just like Amsterdam but with cats.' All sorts of wrong.....<br style="color:𳲙 font-family: wf_segoe-ui_normal, 'Segoe UI', 'Segoe WP', Tahoma, Arial, sans-serif, serif, EmojiFont; font-size: 13.3333px;" />It's been a fantastic weekend and I can't wait to come back. We still need to do some slow shutter speed photography after all....


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb